Apple No Longer Activating iPhones on iOS 9

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by SuperMarioKart, Apr 6, 2018.

  1. SuperMarioKart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #1
    I tested about 20 iPhone 6S & 6S Plus on iOS 9.2.1 to 9.3.2. If I erase all content and settings and return to the activation screen, the iPhones require me to restore to the newest version in iTunes to bypass the "Activation error' message. If i request a carrier unlock code and then try another SIM card for an already activated iPhone, I get the "Activation error" message and have to update as well. Anyone on iOS 9 want to test this and report back? Any way for Apple not to force us to update to the newest iOS?
     
  2. Eriamjh1138@DAN macrumors 6502a

    Eriamjh1138@DAN

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    BFE, MI
    #2
    I JUST activated an iPhone 4S, but without a carrier (formerly verizon) and it took two tries.

    It's the last iOS 9.3.5.

    It's a dog, but it's just part of my collection.
     
  3. SuperMarioKart thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #3
    Well, that's because Apple is still signing the firmware for 9.3.5 iPhone 4S CDMA and GSM. I bet 5/5s/6/6s/Plus all have this issue.
     
  4. now i see it macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #4
    If I remember correctly,
    if you wipe a phone that's on iOS 9, you can restore FROM BACKUP back to iOS 9. Basically a clone of what you had.

    If you wipe a phone that has iOS 9 and want a fresh install without your backup data (everything gone) then you can only install the latest version of software that will run on your device. Currently that's iOS 11.3.

    If you install 11.3 on the phone, you can never install iOS 9 back on it again.
     
  5. SuperMarioKart thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #5
    I'm not sure if this is accurate at all. You can't use the restore from backup option on an unactivated iPhone.

     
  6. FeliApple macrumors 65816

    FeliApple

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #6
    What? This is abhorrent. Seriously if you delete the phone on iOS 9 you have to restore to iOS 11? Talk to me about forced updates. It's wrong that restoring updates automatically, even more so that erasing does it now, too. Doesn't happen on iOS 10 so far, though. I erased a 7+ on iOS 10 and it's still in it.
     
  7. SuperMarioKart thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    #7
    This may be only a 6s plus issue. I activated two 6Ses on 9.3.2 yesterday.
     
  8. KishanKissoon macrumors newbie

    KishanKissoon

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    #8
    This is terrible man, I'm just waiting for the next oppertunity or mishap on apples part to sign ios 10 back and jump on it and downgrade to it asap. IOS 11 is awful
     
  9. Lukas Apple Fan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Location:
    France
    #9
    Were they activated for the 1st time ?
     
  10. FeliApple macrumors 65816

    FeliApple

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #10
    I don't think so. He mentioned that he erased them, first.
     
  11. Candlelight macrumors 6502a

    Candlelight

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    I had battery issues so attempted a full back up, wipe and restore, but found I couldn't do it. Am now stuck on iOS 11 and my poor iPhone 6S is slow and ugly.

    And I still have a battery issue. :(
     
  12. C DM macrumors Sandy Bridge

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    You might want to go get your battery replaced while Apple is doing it cheap this year.
     
  13. Candlelight macrumors 6502a

    Candlelight

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    I have a new battery on my desk. Gonna change it myself tomorrow.
     
  14. Candlelight macrumors 6502a

    Candlelight

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    So I replaced the battery this morning, took it off charge at 10.30am on 100%, but by 3pm it was down to 59%.

    Have shut down all background app refreshes for the time being to see if that gives the charge back. Would hate it if it turned out to be an app I downloaded/updated last week.
     

Share This Page