Apple: no more 'free memory' apps?!

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by mavis, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Well, lucky I already have my free memory app installed then.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    We can always hope against hope that this issue will actually be resolved in the next firmware? Erm... :eek:
     
  4. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    What, you mean they'll be able to add a decent amount of RAM to pre-3GS iPhones via firmware? Sounds great! ;)
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Haha, wouldn't that be nice. I'm open to a factory unlocked, no-contract 3GS at $299 also. :D I just mean the memory management... if an app works when the phone is freshly booted, the OS ought to be able to get free memory back to a point where the app is launchable after you've been using the phone.
     
  6. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    There it is. And since this has NEVER actually worked, I find it hard to believe that it will be fixed in 3.1 ... Although I'd love to be wrong. :)
     
  7. Prospekt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #7
    Well this explains why I couldn't find the free memory option :(
     
  8. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #8
    I sorta agree that they didn't work as effectively.
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Yeah, I recognize that... OTOH, if an SDK app can do it, all the more reason there's no good reason why the OS can't do it. Although who knows what Apple's reasoning is.
     
  10. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #10
    Apple thinks its too confusing to know these things. just like they never tell you the CPU model number they ship and you have to guess
     
  11. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
  12. xanadeath macrumors 6502

    xanadeath

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #12
    Apple requesting developers to remove free memory functionality.. What does this mean

    My favorite memory freeing application, iStat, was just updated. The update removes the application's ability to kill backround processes. Looking further into it, I learneed that apple has actually been requesting that developers either remove this functionality from their applications in an update, or they remove their application from the app store. What could this mean? Does apple simply not want developers tampering with this stuff, or do you think apple plans to add this functionality to the iPhone OS? Say what you think below....... I've been hoping apple would add something like this. I'm outraged though because I purchased iStat for the sole purpose of freeing up memory. That update adds some neat new features, but removes the ability to free memory. Do you think this is wrong..... That we deserve refunds? Anyway..... Yah......

    Have a nice evening

    Xanadeath
     
  13. converge macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #13
    "System Activity Monitor with Free Memory" app is still available.
     
  14. FearlessFreep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #14
    iStat was/is hands-down the best memory freeing application in the App Store. I'd tried others but it consistently keeps my phone running without crashes. A must-have when running large gaems.

    I will never update it now so I can keep the memory clearing functions. Thank goodness I read this thread first.
     
  15. strike1555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
  16. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #16
    better then memoryinfo?
     
  17. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #17
    sbsettings, nuff said. :apple::):apple:
     
  18. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #18
    1+

    I have tried a few Istat is the best I have found. it's still there I'd get it $1.99 this could mean no further updates though. Apple is really starting to piss me off with this stuff.
     
  19. intrepid00 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #19
    They proably want it out because it causes a ton of report crash process to run. Which ruins their bug collecting.
     
  20. mavis thread starter macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS (White, 32GB): Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    Exactly. You know, it's almost as though Apple is encouraging people to JB with these continued shenanigans. The whole Google Voice fiasco, the lack of backgrounding, no quick access to commonly used toggles (wifi, location services, etc), no freaking WALLPAPER, and now this. It's like they want us to JB.
     
  21. Highland macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #21
    Won't be for long.
     
  22. Habakuk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #22
    Too late for me :-(

    I've downloaded the update but NOT SYNCHRONIZED the device yet -- so I have still the "Free Memory"-button. Is there any way to delete (or disable) this particular update in iTunes before the next sync?

    Thx in advance for any hint!
     
  23. Highland macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #23
    Deleting the app from iTunes should stop the new version from being synced.

    This can be done by right or control-clicking on the app and choosing "Delete" (I think that's the option, not at my iPhone's Mac at the moment).
     
  24. LostLogik macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #24
    And this is why I love forums. Thanks for the headsup. I won't upgrade my copy of iStat either, though that means I'll have to live with a badge count on my AppStore icon.

    Interestingly enough, the upgrade isn't showing yet.
     
  25. Habakuk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Vienna Austria Europe
    #25
    Yes there is such an option in the iTunes' Library ("Mediathek" in German-language iTunes). But don't mix it up with the "Programs" section in iTunes' "Devices - iPhone (name)" what would delete the app from the iPhone (that's really confusing btw).

    Thanks, Highland. I'll wait a bit – maybe someone reinforce your hint.

    BTW: Updated my blog with those "news" - see sig.
     

Share This Page