Apple official battery cases impact on battery life?

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by Tidus87, Mar 5, 2019.

1. Tidus87 macrumors newbie

Hey!

So, I’ve seen many posts saying using new official battery case for X/S (Max) decreased people’s battery health, like 3-5%.

Can people using this product confirm if it’s true in their case?

I really wanna get one but I’m a bit worried. My battery is already at 90% health and I don’t want it to decrease any further.

2. speedbird92 macrumors newbie

I’ve owned the battery case since the day it came out, so a little over a month now. My iPhone X battery has stayed at 87% since October or November, and the case hasn’t changed that.

I’m not a professional in this matter, but I don’t think the case is harming the phone.

3. naturalguy macrumors regular

4. mikemj23 macrumors 6502

Have had for my XS Max since day 1 and my battery health has remained at 100%.

5. WNYX macrumors regular

WNYX

I posted this in the other thread about the Smart Battery Case, but I put the case on my phone on February 19, and I took it off yesterday (February 28); my battery health dropped to 97%. I bought the XS Max on October 2, 2018, and the battery health was at 100% up to that point.

6. chabig macrumors 603

Being in constant fear is a sad way to live. If you want or need longer life because you're away from power, get either a power bank or a battery case. End of story.

7. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68030

BugeyeSTI

I’ve found the battery health reading on the native app is hit or miss. Mine says my X is a 97% yet when plugged into coconut battery it reads 99%. I’d say it’s an estimate at best..

8. Shadowbech macrumors 601

Still 100% here on my launch day XS Max and I've had the smart battery case since launch day as well.

9. tkukoc macrumors 65816

tkukoc