Apple Podcasts app just killed my data plan

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by Schtibbie, Oct 7, 2012.

1. Schtibbie macrumors 6502

Ok, so I have a grandfathered measly 200meg data plan. I know that's tiny. But I'm on wifi most all the time, so it has worked out fine the past couple years. But today I did a crazy thing: I used the Apple Podcasts app (1.1.1). I downloaded 3 episodes at home (on wifi) of a podcast. I went to the Podcast settings in Settings and turned OFF "Use cellular data". Then when I saw that the podcasts had finished downloading, wifi not moving any more data, etc, I went out for a run.

The podcast I started playing was an hour long, but decided to run longer. For some reason I cannot fathom, it started playing another episode as soon as that one finished but I didn't notice at the time that it was playing an episode I HAD NOT DOWNLOADED!! It was streaming. Not only that, it apparently downloaded or streamed MORE THAN ONE episode while I was out because I had 100 megs of data usage just during that one run. At this point I'm probably gonna get an overage from AT&T.

Absolutely maddening. Did I ASK it to download or redownload stuff I already had? Did i ask it to start streaming the next episode OVER CELLULAR?? Holy crap!

On top of that, I couldn't run the podcast directly through Nike+ because it's not a song or a playlist. WTF?

2. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

MozMan68

Uummmm...sorry?

Never heard of that happening before...watching my data very closely this month.

3. evandy macrumors newbie

I'm in the same boat. Upgraded my iPhone 4s from iOS5 to iOS6 on thursday. As a result, I was no longer able to play downloaded podcasts via the music app. On Friday, I played 1 "pre-downloaded" podcast on my way to work. While at work, somehow the podcast app managed to download a bunch of files (despite being set to download on WiFi only), and I chewed through 400MB of my 200MB plan in 1 day. That's 200% of my monthly allotment on ONE DAY.