Apple promos? Buying new laptop . . .

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nhcowboy1, May 29, 2011.

1. nhcowboy1 macrumors 6502

My kid needs a new laptop for school. I figured he could pick up a less-than-a-year-old 13" MBP on ebay, get applecare, and he'd be good to go . But I noticed a couple of posts here about back-to-school sales . . . so now I'm wondering if we'd be better off just buying new. But it's June - are there really sales this time of year? And do they really always start on Tuesday? (I know Tuesday is new release day - I just didn't realize it's sales day also!)

Look, when it comes to buying anything new . . . well, I'm a real newbie! (Don't even ask how old my laptop is!) So, if you can explain this to me r.e.a.l.l.y s.l.o.w.l.y . . . that would be a big help!

I've already come across some great deals, including a late-'08 15" MBP (unibody) available locally (with about 9 mos. of applecare left), but I'm inclined to think that for a teenager, 3 full years of applecare is probably more important than gHz or screen size.

Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks!!!

2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

For the sales, the way that it works is that there is a permanent education discount for college students and their parents, as well as K-12 staff. It's anywhere from $50-$200 depending on what computer/configuration you choose. You can go to http://www.apple.com/education for details about that. One plus here is that were a sizable discount on AppleCare included for students as well.