Apple pushes Recovery 2.0 update for El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by BasicGreatGuy, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #1
    Apple has pushed a new update (all users) for El Capitan.

    "El Capitan Recovery Update 2.0 " The Recovery update includes improvements to OS X Recovery and is recommended for all users running El Capitan. No restart required.

    Download was 484 MB and stalled on me half-way through. Restarted the download and had no problems with installation.
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Nice update. Hope this would help uninstalling Windows on El Capitan machine.
     
  3. powerocool macrumors 6502

    powerocool

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
  4. BasicGreatGuy thread starter Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    All the summary said was..."El Capitan Recovery Update 2.0" The Recovery update includes improvements to OS X Recovery and is recommended for all users running El Capitan.

    I am guessing Apple found some serious problems with the latest update, and felt it necessary to push another update to address the Recovery aspect of the OS.
     
  5. jbachandouris macrumors 68040

    jbachandouris

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Upstate NY
  6. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #6
    No these updates are usually to bring the Recovery Partition up-to-date. If you needed to restore your El Cap Mac before this update, even from the Recovery Partition, it would take you down to DB1 or PB1 (which ever cycle your on). I assume this means that if you need to restore your machine now using the Recovery Drive, it'll bring you to either DB7 or PB5 (which ever cycle your on). That's what those Recovery updates have been for before.

    This most likely means that they are getting ready to release a full installer for both builds. My installation thumb drive is on standby.
     
  7. BasicGreatGuy thread starter Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #7
    Thanks for the post. That makes a lot of sense. I too welcome a full installer release.
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    The developer preview installer that's out now is a full one for the latest build. Much easier reinstallation now.
     
  9. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #9
    Stalled on me after 20 MB, I cancelled and restarted, it downloaded and installed, and now App Store tells me I have one update available. Can you possibly guess what it is? ;)

    Has it always been like this with betas? (I never tried until El Cap.) I keep on reading about people having the same update displayed four times, stalling or not showing up at all.
     
  10. Geert76 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #10
    does this mean I can go directly to DP7 tommorrow when I receive my brand new MacBook Pro? I am a registered dev.
    Or do I install first DP1, then DP2 and so on all the way to DP7?
     
  11. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #11
    If you download a new installer from the App Store, it'll be DP7, but if you have an older installer, you'd need to get up to either DP2 or DP3, then you'll get DP7.
     
  12. Geert76 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #12
    okay! thanks
     
  13. howi macrumors newbie

    howi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    #13
    Folks,

    It appears the System Integrity Protection toggle disappears from this round of recovery update...
     
  14. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #14
    Not good! Can it still be disabled from Terminal?
     
  15. redheeler, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015

    redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #15
    Yes.
    Code:
    csrutil disable
    And to re-enable:
    Code:
    csrutil enable
    However, I do hope the absence of the menu item is temporary.
     
  16. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #16
    Thanks! Yeah I hope so. It made it so much easier to deal with Rootless.
     
  17. rnbwd macrumors regular

    rnbwd

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    I have a feeling it's not temporary.. I speculate they were waiting for csrutil to be finished and only had the menu item as a work-around.
     
  18. howi, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2015

    howi macrumors newbie

    howi

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    #18
    iamMacPerson,

    Ha, it looks like you have got the answer. Yes, and in my case, the csrutil status shows every toggle intact as before...

     
  19. willrun4fun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #19
    I can't get my dual boot Yosemite/El Capitan DP7 system to detect this update. Any ideas?
     
  20. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #20
    So I've been trying yesterday, it installed once, still appeared in updates, but App Store was busy serving everybody else and I didn't manage to install it again. Today it's gone from updates, but according to App Store I installed it three times.
     
  21. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #21
    If it doesn't show up in the mac app store, just use the direct link in apple's developer forums. Boot up and install onto your El Capitan partition though.
     
  22. tywebb13 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #22
    There is another one for PB5 also in apple's developer forums.

    They are not the same because they have slightly different file sizes. So be sure to install the correct one for your system if you use the direct links.
     

Share This Page