apple question

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by perlsyntax, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. perlsyntax, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

    perlsyntax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #1
    If i don't have a iPhone can i still test it out on the iPhone simulator before i have apple test out my app and has anyone use TestFlight for beta testing?
     
  2. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #2
    The simulator is very good for general testing. But if you actually intend to release an app on the App Store, you *DEFINITELY* need to test the app on an actual iPhone. In fact I currently would recommend testing on an iPhone 5S, an iPhone 5, and an iPhone 4S.

    Sometimes, bugs and glitches will not show up in the simulator. The more real-world devices and versions of iOS you test it out on, the better.
     
  3. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #3
    I can't imagine many bugs you would uncover by running on an iPhone 5 that you wouldn't find by running on an iPhone 4S and an iPhone 5S.
     
  4. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #4
    The iPhone 5S is 64bit, while the 5 and 4S are 32bit. Additionally, the 4S has a smaller screen size.
     
  5. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
  6. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #6
    Right... You seem to be backing up my statement that it's pointless to test on the iPhone 5 after you've already tested on an iPhone 4S and iPhone 5S.
     
  7. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #7
    Can you build project without apple dev before you sign up?
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Your question is not clear, but if you are asking
    "Can I build a project and hope that it works without testing it on an actual device?"

    Well, yes, but why would you?

    As has already been posted - the simulator allows you to test your app in a general way, but the actual hardware is going to be your best test.
    I suppose if you have already developed some apps, and you have done the same kind of coding for another app, you might skip the testing phase, because you are confident in your ability.
    (and that makes even less sense as I write it)

    But, you are asking the question, so I am assuming that you have little experience (and less money). That makes it even more imperative that you come up with some way to test on actual hardware. Maybe you know someone who has an iOS device that you can use for testing.
     
  9. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #9
    Your question is unclear. What do you mean by "without apple dev"? Or "before you sign up"? Please clarify.
     
  10. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #10
    I don't see why so hard to understand what i talking about.
     
  11. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #11
    It's because, to me at least, the terms / phrasings you're using are too ambiguous for me to know what it is that you're referring to. That's why I asked for clarification. If you're not willing to provide that, I'm not sure I can be of any further help. Sorry.
     
  12. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #12
    I well say this i try to put it in the best way i know how.
     
  13. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #13
    Do I have your permission to repeat here in this thread what you asked me in that PM?
     

Share This Page