Apple Releases tvOS 10.1.1 for Fourth-Generation Apple TV

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 23, 2017.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today released a new update for tvOS, the operating system designed to run on the fourth-generation Apple TV. tvOS 10.1.1 comes five weeks after the release of tvOS 10.1, the first major update to the tvOS 10 operating system. Apple only seeded two betas of tvOS 10.1.1 to developers before releasing it to the public.

    The tvOS 10.1.1 update can be downloaded on the fourth-generation Apple TV using the Settings app. Go to System --> Software Update to install. For those who have automatic software updates turned on, the Apple TV will be upgraded to tvOS 10.1.1 automatically.

    [​IMG]

    No new features or changes were discovered in the tvOS 10.1.1 beta, but as a 10.1.x update, it's likely to be minor in scale, primarily focusing on introducing bug fixes and performance optimizations.

    Article Link: Apple Releases tvOS 10.1.1 for Fourth-Generation Apple TV
     
  2. profets macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    I hope to see some bug fixes. For some reason on multiple of my 4th generation Apple TVs I get a lot of freezing and crashing when going into the Settings app on 10.1.
     
  3. rfahey79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    #3
    I'm hoping this fixes some intermittent issues with the TV app. Sometimes I get the TV app launching a network app while it starts to play a show and I wind up with echoing because the two are playing over each other.

    Or where certain network apps say you don't have a subscription when you launch through the TV app but when you go directly through their app they have no issue playing content.
     
  4. peejay1229 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #4
    Hopefully it will fix this....

    "Has anyone had an issue when clicking apps such as netflix, hbogo (non-apple apps) and they do not open?

    I hear the appletv sound and it is almost like the icon "pops" but does not open the app.


    I have tried resetting the unit and unplugging it for 15 - 20 seconds and it does not fix the problem."
     
  5. bassanoclapper macrumors 6502

    bassanoclapper

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I haven't used the TV app yet but curious to know if this breaks 'home rip' media or was that a 10.2 beta?
     
  6. foxcub6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    #6
    Having problems downloading it starts then comes up unsuccessful then goes back to home screen. All in a few seconds
     
  7. liberte1776 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    #7
    What Apple TV desperately needs is better diagnostics to show why videos can randomly stop playing and you get the spinner. Happens all too often and it's hard to know if there is a need to reboot ATV, or internet provider issue, or streaming server provider issue...
     
  8. Gasu E. macrumors 601

    Gasu E.

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    Not far from Boston, MA.
    #8

    That used to happen to me all the time. Then I upgraded my home wifi--problem solved. I'm not sure AppleTV could have figured that out.
     
  9. sharbeen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    #9
    I had this issue. The day I changed my router the issue completely disappeared. I used to think it was apple tv issue.
     
  10. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #10
    Why am I still not seeing the new aerials? I use my ATV almost daily.
     
  11. bassanoclapper macrumors 6502

    bassanoclapper

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #11
    There's a setting to download new screen savers Daily, Weekly, Monthly, etc.
     
  12. Idgit macrumors 6502

    Idgit

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    #12
    Were you on WiFi or Ethernet?
     
  13. FuzzMunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    #13
    Buy yourself a quality router from Asus and be done with bad networking problems. The day I did this for myself, my mother and for my sister in laws household, was the last day of poor connectivity problems and spinning wheels.
     
  14. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #14
    Well, the quality of wireless signals can be measured, so the OS could be a bit more graceful in reporting that particular problem.
     
  15. rhoydotp macrumors 6502

    rhoydotp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #15
    Oh people. Apple should really tell the users that we have crappy WIFI devices. It's totally their fault!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2017 ---
    Is this setting also available for shared photos from my iMac? My ATV only shows the same 10-15 pictures over and over. I have over 100 photos on the album I chose for the screensaver.
     
  16. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #16
    I didn't say it was Apple's "fault." It would help non-technical users diagnose the problem. That would help them erroneously coming to the wrong conclusion, returning the Apple TV, wasting Apple's time with support, etc. At the very least, I'd put a wireless indicator on the home screen.
     
  17. foxcub6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    #17
    Was on Apple Store the other day and they had them on tbere Apple TV
     
  18. dorsal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    #18
    The "Audio Description" keeps coming back on Netflix shows, even when I turn it off. I hope this fixes the bug.
     
  19. Yeti89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #19
    I had a similar issue (heard the clicks but then nothing would happen) and it ended up being my remote. Once I got a new one everything worked like normal.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2017 ---
    I had to completely reset my Apple TV. Not restart but reset. Changing the settings and all other things didn't work. Also, now I get the new arerials but I feel like it doesn't truly cycle through them all randomly. Even, with it set to download new ones every day.
     
  20. foxcub6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    #20
    Finally got the new screensavers , tried to update and it just returned to the main screen after a few mins , then tried reset and update that failed after 10 mins so eventually reset and once it was up and running I updated and all is well pity I had to go through ea h password fir ea h app I use Netflix Now tv etc pain but it's done
     
  21. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #21
    I finally got a couple of the new aerials this weekend. Dubai and HK.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 23, 2017 ---
    That is not the issue. Mine was set to Daily and didn't get new ones until now.
     
  22. sharbeen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    #22
    Wifi. It's actually same router but one with custom firmware from my ISP and the other one has the original Dlink firmware. So the one with original Dlink firmware got things working smoothly.
     
  23. EdT macrumors 65816

    EdT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    #23
    My Apple TV is plugged directly into the router which is plugged into and right next to the DSL modem. I also get the spinning wheel and I have no idea why, except that it isn't a wifi issue.
     
  24. tennisproha macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #24
    I have intermittent video freeze issues as well except it's with some apps more than others. This leads me to believe it's the app itself. Although, it did improve slightly when I switched modems.
     
  25. BlazePhyre macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    #25
    The update includes compatibility with HBO GO and the tv app which was oddly excluded from earlier versions besides HBO NOW.
     

Share This Page