Apple Remote app volume control sticks

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by icewing, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. icewing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    St Louis
    #1
    Anyone else having this problem? I'm running XP, and this always worked fine before. I'm on 2.2 and current version of Remote, current (8.0.2) iTunes, and I reboot my iPhone every few days. Never had this problem before 2.2, but not sure if this was caused by 2.2 or not.

    In the Remote app, the volume slider is sometimes unresponsive, especially when I crank the volume past the edge of the right "skip" button. If I cranked it all the way up, about 99% of the time it won't let me decrease the volume. It's unpredictibly unresponsive throughout the entire range though, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, seems to be getting worse.

    Anyone? Buehler? :confused:
     
  2. icewing thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    St Louis
    #2
    Update: did a restore and still having the same problem! :mad:

    Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  3. glennvander macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #3
    Try a double tap

    I had the same issue and it seems to be resolved by a quick but firm double tap on the volume button.

    Hope that works for you
     
  4. Lucbert macrumors regular

    Lucbert

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #4
    Seems like your touchscreen is broken, take it to an Apple Store.
     
  5. jdubman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #5
    I am experiencing the same problem -- a stuck volume control -- and there is nothing wrong with my screen. There's a big fat bug in the Remote app. Moving the volume slider almost never (but sometimes) works.

    I have a 3G with the 2.2 system and no amount of fresh installing and updating fixes this problem. Everything else is working fine. Apple needs to fix the bug in the app or it is unusable for me. Double tapping makes it work a little more often, but it's still unreliable.
     
  6. lifeonmars macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    #6
    I'm having the same problem too. I have two iphones and when it happens it happens with both of them. (I just updated the second one to 2.2 and since then I noticed this one has the same problem.)

    I use airport express and extreme (nothing to do with this i guess), macmini, macbook, leopard, so all should be compatible I guess, but not being able to use the volumecontrol of remote on the I phone makes me not using the app and the express anymore.
     

Share This Page