Apple Remote Desktop Questions

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by djasmooth, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. djasmooth macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #1
    How's it going? I'm not sure if this is in the right section, but I was wondering, since I work at an online radio station, I would like all the staff and members to access the studio computer from their houses just in case of any problems, would it be possible to set this up or can you only use this software for computers locally? Is it possible to do this from having the computer miles away?

    Thanks
     
  2. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    There are a number of other free and paid solutions available such as Logmein.com (my personal choice), Teamviewer, gotomypc, etc. that work regardless of whether someone is on a pc or Mac.

    The free features have some limitations when compared to the paid versions but should probably be adequate.
     
  3. djasmooth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
  4. djasmooth thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    #4
    I forgot to mention I am looking to get ARD 3 - not the free one that's pre-installed
     
  5. MooneyFlyer macrumors 65816

    MooneyFlyer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Sorry, I didn't even bother to respond to your original question. I attempted to get it working at one point but had trouble when outside of my network (ie, traveling and trying to get back into my home Mac). There are certainly ways to do it from what I've read but I gave up and used logmein.com.
     
  6. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    If you can ssh to the machine (you know it's IP address and the ssh port is allowed in through the router/firewall), then you can tunnel Screen Sharing via the ssh connection (non-Mac users could use a VNC client).

    You mentioned ARD, but it's not clear what features of ARD you want that aren't available in Screen Sharing.

    A.
     
  7. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #7
    Why would you want to use ARD and not the one that is pre installed?

    Do you really want a bunch of people installing ARD on their home machines? Just use Screen Sharing that comes with Leopard.

    Setup Screen Sharing on the station's Mac, and forward the port out to the internet (5900), and that's it. People can connect even through safari by going to vnc://<ip address here>
     
  8. guzhogi macrumors 68030

    guzhogi

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Location:
    Wherever my feet take me…
    #8
    I use ARD at work & the paid version really helps. If I need to push a file to multiple computers, observe any number of computers, it's great. The built-in screen sharing is good, but has its limitations.
     

Share This Page