Apple Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by AFPoster, Dec 8, 2011.

1. AFPoster macrumors 65816

Purchased ARD 3.5.1 from the Mac App Store and am installing them on 4 Mac's (2 iMac's & 2 MBAir's). Any tips, suggestions, things I should do since I am new to this whole ordeal?

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

What are you even asking? Installing Remote Desktop is straight forward.

3. AFPoster thread starter macrumors 65816

Setting up a VNC correctly - if needed, proper way of getting remote access from anywhere in the world.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

You'll need to configure your router for port forwarding if you're attempting to access your macs from the internet.

An easier solution is to use Logmein which is free for personal use. You'll need to worry about port forwarding anything with logmein.

5. thankins macrumors 6502

I agree with Maflynn....but if you want to do it

First off you will need a static IP address from your ISP, if you are at home then you probably have a dynamic address and will have to use DYNDNS and set it up on one of your Macs.

You don't have to install ARD on all four machines...only the machine you are using remotely to remote into the other machines.

After you have your static IP or dyndns then you will need to set your macs to have a internal static IP (192.168.x.x or whatever your subnet is)

After this configure port forwarding on your router. And since you want to remote into more than one on the same internal network you must use public and private ports. So the public ports would be 3283, 5900 and the private ports would be XXXX, XXXX and point it to one of your internal macs. The private port numbers would have to be different of course for each mac

Then after this go to your Macs and then click on Sys Pref. and then sharing and turn on Remote Management - selecting all the options.