Apple remote/iPod touch issues

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by The Grood, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. The Grood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #1
    iPod touch in universal dock with sounds sticks:

    Just now, for no apparent reason, my appple remote stopped forwarding tracks or pausing. Tried another remote. Same problem.

    Volume up/down still works though.

    Any thoughts or suggestions?
     
  2. The Grood thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #2
    Now it's a volume problem

    Sorry to bump my thread but...

    I re-synced the touch which fixed the track forward/back problem.

    But now the volume adjust button only changes the iPod volume setting, not the soundstick volume - which severely limits the maximum sound level.

    Whatever I do, it seems I either have to lose the track control/pause function, or suffer hugely reduced sound output.

    Argh!

    Any advice?
     
  3. MvdM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #3
    Same kind of problem here

    Mine stopped reacting to the remote after it was locked (1 minute auto lock is on). Only the volume up/down worked, but the volume bar on the touch itself did not slide at all. In the settings/info the universal dock (old version) was not found. I choose to reset the touch (Reset all settings) and now it works like it should.
    What week is your touch from, mine's a 39er.
     
  4. MvdM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #4
    Hardware or software related?

    So our touches seem to' loose' the connection with the dock, but not entirely. It doesn't show the dock in it's inventory and the touch acts a bit like my iPod mini did. Which means the volume goes up/down without changing the volume on the touch itself.
    My question : is it a bug in the software or is there something wrong in the touches' hardware?
    After resetting the touch it recognizes the dock and acts like it should. I did not take the touch out of the dock, so I don't think there's something wrong with the connectors.
     
  5. The Grood thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the help - I'll try resetting tonight.

    Mine's a Macy Gray - haven't checked what week. But no screen probs etc.

    Love it.
     
  6. Stang68 macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    so do you guys suggest getting the apple remote for the touch? It seems to be working now? Because I dont want to keep taking out my touch to change the volume or song; i'd much rather just use the remote to do that.
     

Share This Page