apple remote pairing..please help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macmaniac9, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. macmaniac9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I am having issues pairing my apple remote to my macbook with Tiger. I tried everything available on the net. I have used 2 different admin accounts but didnt work. I put in new batteries and tested the remote with the macbook camera, it looks like its working fine. I put in the install CD and ran the diagnostic test which found no problems...I am just stuck up...Has any body has any similar problems? Please help.
     
  2. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #2
    i know you're supposed to press menu + fastforward but have you tried Menu + Play/Pause buttons, i ask because there a tip at www.macosxhints.com about it.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    I'm assuming you went to System Preferences --> Security --> Pairing?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. macmaniac9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    Yes I tried that too. I tried all key combinations but none work.
     
  5. macmaniac9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5

    I dont have this screen under security, it says file vault at the top. There is only unpair button at the bottom and the disable IR reciever. There is nothing which says about pairing. I have OS X tiger and I am using a Macbook. How can I get that message hat should say pring a the top.
     
  6. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #6
    Yeah, unpair it first, then repair your remote.

    Similar screen is on Tiger. The screenshot is Leopard.
     
  7. macmaniac9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #7
    My screen says unpair at the bottom but its not enabled..It looks like its disabled.
     
  8. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    Take a screenshot.

    Press CMD+SHIFT+4 and drag the selection.
     
  9. macmaniac9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    If you see the unpair button is greyed out.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page