Apple Remote with Macbook Unibody!

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mihajlonet, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. mihajlonet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #1
    I have Macbook 13" Aluminum Unibody, but I didn't get Apple Remote. Can I buy it? Will it work?
    Where's the IR on my computer?! The thing where the standby light is? :)
     
  2. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
  3. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #3
    They've not shipped the remote with many models for 2 years or so now.

    But as above, yes x3
     
  4. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    This is relatively annoying. Wish I had a free remote :p
     
  5. mousouchop macrumors 6502a

    mousouchop

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I have a free remote that was included with my Blackbook that I purchased 2 years ago. It is annoying that they now expect you to pay $20 for one... I wouldn't own one had it not been free, as I rarely use mine.
     
  6. mihajlonet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    #6
    Well, it's $41 in the country I'm living at the moment, and $53 in my home country... so, you are lucky, trust me!
     
  7. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #7
    I guess it is, but for renewing Apple customers it's less of an issue. I've got 2 remotes and I use neither (not selling them though). So you can sort of see why they don't ship remotes anymore.
     
  8. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #8
    I wonder what the profit margin is on one of those things. They can't cost more than a few cents to manufacture. And to say that I payed 19€ for this silly piece of plastic. My free one got nicked.
     
  9. tallguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    I got a remote with the imac that i purchased, never use it but it is there. i wonder how many people that own a mac with a remote actually make use of front row?
     
  10. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #10
    I use mine multiple times per week, under two types of circumstances.

    1. I hook my MBP up to my TV to watch movies.
    2. I press the menu button to activate it when I have multiple friends in my room with Macs so Front Row turns on for all of them.:D
     
  11. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    Haha dude you sound dead annoying ;) I keep pressing the command to open Front Row (well, I did until I changed it to something obscure), and it was so frustrating I almost deleted Front Row before I realised you could change the command :)
     

Share This Page