Apple replaced 3gs do I HAVE to log into iTunes?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Bigfootmama, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. Bigfootmama macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #1
    Hi from a noob to JB and UL...

    Apple replaced my 3gs because it was buggy. Do I have to activate it using iTunes? I was waiting for the new unlock... :(

    I know if I activate the phone it will put on the 4.2 FW and new BB...what ever number that is.

    I am so excited to be finished with my contract to AT&T so I can use a cheaper carrier... now this.

    Please help...
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You can plug it to itunes to activate it without updating the firmware.
    You just put your simcard in and let itunes load. When or if it pops up the message that there's a newer firmware version and if you would like to update you can click no or cancell.
     
  3. Bigfootmama, Nov 24, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010

    Bigfootmama thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #3
    Had to do a restore in order to take it to Apple... I feel totally screwed. I will have to wait forever for a JB and UL for the new FW and BB.

    I guess I can sell this new iphone and get one thats already JB and UL.
     

Share This Page