Apple replacing logic board. Will it be new?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jamin100, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. jamin100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #1
    My new (whitebook) which is 3 weeks old (refurb) is in with apple this week having a new logic board and keyboard/topcase fitted.

    I want to know, will the logic board be brand new or will it be a refurbished one?
     
  2. dckj95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
  3. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
  4. wonza macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    Just wondering if you're getting this done with corecare? Or if you know how much it would cost if you had to pay for it?

    My trackad and keyboard stopped working a month or so ago and I dont have core care, and from reading around it seems like its the logic board.
     
  5. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #5
    Sorry, the machine is only 3 weeks old so is still under the 1 year warranty.
     
  6. wonza macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    anyone else have an idea how much its likely to cost? :confused:
     
  7. khunsanook macrumors 6502

    khunsanook

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    East Asia
    #7
    I can't say how much the logic board would cost (most likely A LOT!), but I just had a superdrive and keyboard replaced - keyboard was $139 and the labor for everything (level 2 repair) was $135. AppleCare pays off once again.
     
  8. rogair macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
  9. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #9
    Fixed that for you.
     
  10. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #10
    ^ um no. the logic board will be brand new. however if you exchange the entire laptop, say screen issues, then it will be refurbished.
     
  11. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #11
    well i had issues with the RAM slot and the isight light always being on.
    There's probably no way that i'll be able to tell if its refurbished or new anyway.
     

Share This Page