Apple Reserve Mode

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by JayHova, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. JayHova macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #1
    Curious to see the watch in apple reserve mode. Anyone with a watch want to take a picture of this?
     
  2. SixtyK macrumors 6502a

    SixtyK

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #2
    I assume you mean power reserve... isn't that just either the watch face or a blank screen?
     
  3. shenfrey macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    #3
    It's just a typical digital clock face, doesn't even take up the whole screen. Not a mode you should be excited about, it looks meh :)
     
  4. bulbousnub macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #4
    Pretty sure it's just a bland digital watch face. Time only, no frills.
     
  5. JayHova, Apr 23, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015

    JayHova thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #5
    Darn.. was hoping we could choose between analog or digital face.

    a simple analog face would use little power, and I think it would look nicer.
     
  6. Bbqthis macrumors 6502a

    Bbqthis

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #6
    Nope. AND you have to restart the watch to take it out of power reserve....so yeah. Don't get excited too much!
     
  7. jomo25 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #7
    I assume even alarm functionality is disabled?
     
  8. jsmith189 macrumors 65816

    jsmith189

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #8
    Yeah that annoyed me lol. I turned it on just to see what it looked like (blank digital face) and then couldn't get out of it lmao. Maybe charging it would fix it, but my charger was in the other room, and... you know.
     
  9. J.C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #9
    I tried Power Reserve mode and found that Activate on Wrist Raise doesn't work, and clicking the button brings up the time but it takes about 2 seconds so feels like the watch isn't responding.

    I assume this is normal?
     
  10. Rogifan macrumors P6

    Rogifan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #10
    One thing John Gruber mentioned is in the 20+ days he's been using the watch he's never needed the power reserve mode. Used it once and that was just for his review. Also said most days end with 40-50% battery life left.
     
  11. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #11
    It's normal. In power reserve, it basically turns off all the sensors and whatnot, leaving it just with the time.
     
  12. J.C macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #12
    Thanks for the reply. I wish the button response was instant. That wouldn't use any more power.
     

Share This Page