Apple Reserve & Premier FAN #

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jasonhoutx, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. jasonhoutx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    Just spoke to apple to see if I would run into any trouble with a reserve at their store and the fact that have a ATT Fan Account. He said the only way to walk out with a iPhone is to pay full price. Att is the only ones to be able to jack with a FAN account.

    Just a heads up if you are a business account with a reserve at the Apple store.
     
  2. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #2
    BS. I have a FAN account and have done this 3 years in a row. There was a problem 2 years ago, but they fixed it before last year. I went into the Apple Store and paid the upgrade price no problems.
     
  3. cheapa55 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #3
    I was wondering the same thing because I had a problem with my 3G purchase at the Apple store 2 yrs ago. For 3GS I went to AT&T store and had no problems. This year, I'm going to the Apple store again, I hope it's going to be no problem. I'm tempted to remove the FAN discount for a few weeks.
     
  4. h4a5r macrumors member

    h4a5r

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    I'm in the same boat.

    It all depends on the kind of FAN and Premier account that you have. The only way I have seen to find out if you will have trouble is to check Apple's eligibility page. If you get a message like this:

    [​IMG]


    then you are S.O.L. and you have to order through AT&T. If you get a different message or are sent through to the ordering process, then you are most likely good to go ordering at the Apple store.

    I have confirmed this with both my local Apple store and two different AT&T reps.

    Good luck!
     
  5. secretanchitman macrumors 6502

    secretanchitman

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #5
    my account has a 25% fan discount and i reserved it through apple no problem.
     
  6. Bloake macrumors 6502

    Bloake

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #6
    You can reserve it, but OP says purchasing it may be a problem.
     
  7. bmwhd macrumors 6502a

    bmwhd

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #7
    So what's the final word on this? Can I pick up the one I have reserved at the apple store and activate it on my Premier line?

    More detail: I have one Premier line (3GS currently) and 2 3GS phones on a AT&T family plan. I used one of those to make the reservation at the apple store for the one I could get before server failure blocked me out.

    So: do I have to activate on one of my family plan lines or can I put the device on my premier line?
     
  8. emaja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    I did it for both the 3G and 3GS, so unless they have changed it this time, I call shenanigans.

    I tried to pre-order from Apple.com, but since I was adding a line it wouldn't let me and directed me to AT&T. I didn't feel like standing in line this time, so I pre-ordered from AT&T and everything is progressing like it should according to their order status page.
     
  9. chriskzoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #9
    How could they block it? At the very least you could get the new phone as a new non-FAN account, otherwise what would happen to someone who owned their own business and wanted a business and a personal phone?
     
  10. ducktales macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #10
    i got a FAN and I ordered a phone for 1 of my lines through Apple.com.
     

Share This Page