Apple says... No more user-replacable RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Firebrand, Jun 23, 2017.

  1. Firebrand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #1
    No need to panic (yet), Apple continues to offer you premium RAM :)

    However, some are wondering, in the spacegray shadow of the iMac Pro:
    — if not one iMac were to have user-replacable RAM, let’s say starting next year, WOULD YOU BUY?

    Of course you would, wouldn’t you? Why not? Premium RAM! Yes?
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    All 27" non-pro models have user-replacable RAM, as confirmed by Apple's website: https://support.apple.com/HT201191.

    As for the iMac Pro not having easy-upgradable RAM, I agree it's a disappointment. It was probably thought that having such a large access door for the desktop-size DDR4 DIMMs would interfere with the clean design, but if there's one thing a professional user is likely to upgrade later on after purchase, it's RAM.
     
  3. Firebrand thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    #3
    Indeed, all 27" non-pro (!) models have user-replacable RAM ... for now. But my question was: what if that were to change in the near future?
     
  4. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #4
    I would wait and see rather than ifs........

    I agree with dictionaries that describe 'if' as the saddest word in the English language, together with an 'if only'......
     
  5. PieTunes macrumors 6502

    PieTunes

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    Sure it would suck to not have the ability to upgrade my own RAM, but would it be a deal breaker? Not for me. It's no different than the current state of storage options. Buy what I need because what else could I do? Move back to Windows? That's rich! :D
     
  6. bcortens macrumors member

    bcortens

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    #6
    Personally I would rather they remove the ram door and replace it with a 3x larger exhaust vent and then beef up the internal cooling system on all iMacs and not just the pro.
     
  7. ZMacintosh macrumors 65816

    ZMacintosh

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    #7
    I don't personally mind non upgradable, the only problem is sourcing quality tools and parts to put the sealed display back on, the ifixit stuff isn't always the greatest. Idk if apple made the back panel or display come off easier (one idea is the display could connect to the bottom of the iMac via connector i.e.; pci-e or something similar instead of a ribbon cable) via magnetic connection like the previous iMacs or similar to the G5 but highly doubt it.
     
  8. Packers1958 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #8
    Who knows, maybe there won't be any new non pro iMacs after this. Just like no new TC.
     
  9. danielwsmithee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    #9
    Yeah I think that is why they are shipping the iMac Pro with 32GB of RAM by default. I also expect BTO RAM upgrades on the iMac Pro to have a much lower markup then on other machines due to this reason. Simply to avoid the backlash.

    For what I do, I could use the extra CPU cores. Don't have a need for the VEGA graphics or more than 32GB of RAM though.

    I'm kind of hoping the new Mac Pro will allow a configuration with just a cheaper RX580 with a higher end CPU configuration for this reason.
     
  10. Algus macrumors regular

    Algus

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    I am not entirely unopposed to sealed case designs with no user modifiable parts. I adjusted with laptops after thinking the loss of my bay doors would be devastating. In the end it will come down to whether Apple is producing machines that can perform the tasks I expect of them.

    At the moment, allowing me to supply my own (cheaper) third party RAM makes the Mac I do own an obvious choice for my Virtual Machine stuff. If I reach the point where a Mac can no longer do the work I need it to do, I will switch to another device.

    I'm not super worried about the iMac Pro setting precedent though. To me this seems like a stopgap device to make up for the fact that the current Mac Pro is rubbish but they don't have anything ready to go based on the feedback they have received.
     
  11. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #11
    What was devastating Algus was the culling of the Floppy Drive!

    But we all survived Apple being a fore runner in design. Didn't take long for the sheep to follow and kill the floppy.
     
  12. Packers1958 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #12
    The floppy example is not the same as the expandable ram. Apple does not want to get rid of ram, they just want you to pay their price to upgrade it for you. A better example would be if Apple prevented you from adding an external drive of your choice, but instead limited you to only being able to use an external drive they sold.
     

Share This Page