Apple Seeds First Beta of Upcoming tvOS 12.4 Update to Developers

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, May 15, 2019.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today seeded the first beta of an upcoming tvOS 12.4 update to developers for testing purposes, a few days after releasing the tvOS 12.3 update.

    Designed for the fourth and fifth-generation Apple TV models, the new tvOS 12.4 developer beta can be downloaded onto the Apple TV through a profile that's installed using Apple's Xcode software.

    [​IMG]

    tvOS updates have historically been minor in scale, focusing on under-the-hood bug fixes and improvements rather than major outward-facing changes. Apple provides little to no information on what's included in tvOS updates, so we may not discover anything new after installing the new beta.

    We don't always know what's new, but we do share tvOS updates so developers are able to download new software upon release.

    tvOS 12.3, the prior update, was a one of the most significant tvOS updates we've had to date, introducing an updated TV app along with a new Channels feature designed to let Apple TV users purchase subscriptions to services like HBO, Showtime, Starz, and more right in the TV app.

    Should we discover new features in tvOS 12.4, we'll update this post with details.

    Article Link: Apple Seeds First Beta of Upcoming tvOS 12.4 Update to Developers
     
  2. Andronicus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #2
    I hope they fix the Remote App that thing is garbage. And the actual sliver of a remote you get with Apple TV is not much better.
     
  3. H3LL5P4WN macrumors 68000

    H3LL5P4WN

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #3
    Not that anyone around here cares, but I have confirmation that the WWE Network app now works as it's supposed to on this beta, on the Apple TV 4K.
     
  4. Sym0 macrumors 6502

    Sym0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #4
    Harmony Hub Companion - never looked back, enough said.
     
  5. wankey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #5
    The remote app has a problem - the actual remote, you put your finger on the screen and press down to click.

    The remote app doesn't do that, which is weird.

    They have pressure sensor in the screen, why not make the screen like a MBP trackpad where you leave your finger on the screen, press down to activate it like a button.
     
  6. Andronicus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #6
    Ill give this a shot. Thanks!
     
  7. BlandUsername macrumors regular

    BlandUsername

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    In yer server room, fixing the tubes
    #7
    Here's hoping they fix having to reboot the ATV to get it to show up in the phone app.
     
  8. Chopper9 macrumors regular

    Chopper9

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #8
    Can you get Siri control for AppleTV to work with that remote?
     
  9. blacktape242 macrumors 68000

    blacktape242

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #9
    when will i not have to log into a browser to put in a code to access the app content....annoying AF!
     
  10. Phantom-fa macrumors newbie

    Phantom-fa

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Location:
    Adelaide SA

Share This Page

9 May 15, 2019