Apple + Shift + 4 = Similar in Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by christianholm, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. christianholm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #1
    Hi Guys!

    I am stuck with a Windows computer, and am desperatly trying to find out how to do a screencapture.

    I am familiar with both alt/shift + prtScreen, but if there is someway to size a screencapture without having to go through Paint or similar, pleeeeaaase share the secret with me :)

    THANKS IN ADV!


    Christian
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Unfortunately, you need to use a 3rd-party utility to do this without having to go through Paint on Windows. :( I am also stuck on a Windows machine at the moment, and though I don't do screen captures often, I understand your frustration.
     
  3. MorphingDragon macrumors 603

    MorphingDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    The World Inbetween
    #3
    Nope, Windows requires a 3rd party utility to do that.
     
  4. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    I always use The Gimp, freeware that works on Windows (as well as Macs and Linux). It will capture a window plus it is a very well featured graphics editor so you can trim, draw, add nomenclature, and save in the format of your choice, all in one program.
     
  5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #5
    I do a Print Screen then paste into Powerpoint, trim off what I dont want, then copy and paste into where ever I want it. Takes about 5 minutes, job done!
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Windows Vista and 7 also have the Snipping Tool.
     

Share This Page