Apple software running on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hephem, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. hephem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #1
    Hi to all,

    I'm looking forward to switch to a MBA (1.8/80) and I would like to make it my principal machine. But before this done, I just would like to inform me about the programs that may or may not run on the MBA. I'm kind of worried for the Logic Express and Final Cut Express. I heard that the Final Cut Pro does not work, but what about the Express version?

    Also, you can use this post to notify which softwares doesn't work on MBA.

    Thank you all for your future answers.

    Cheers,
    Hephem
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I would really advise against using a Macbook air as a main machine especially if you're using any pro apps.

    I would go for a macbook pro if I were you.
    but if you absolutely must use an air (I have no idea why. No one edits a movie on the run!) Final cut pro and express will both run on the air. (not all of final cut studio will run on it) and I am unsure of Logic Express, however I'd think it would as it doesn't require a nice graphics card...
     
  3. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #3
    Anything will run on the MBA as long as it doesn't require real graphics. FCE and LE will run, but it is not desirable to use it as your only machine. You are stuck with what you have when you get it, the 80 Gb 4200 rpm HD is slow and might choke up with audio recording and the processor, while not slow, isn't the most powerful of things, even if it is the 1.8. I say that a MacBook or MacBook Pro would be better for you in the long run, but I'm not going to stop you from buying a MBA. The MBA was intended as a portable, thus I plan to get one to supplement my Mac Pro, but not to run in its place.
     
  4. hephem thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #4
    Thank you so much for answers guys.
    I would like to have the MBA because it is almost as powerful as the MB but much more light, thin and design. It runs everything I want to, it's not slow at all, so why not to make it my main machine? The slow and low capacity HD will be replaced by the 1600$ Mtron 1.8 SSD 128gb. After that, all conditions will be reached to use the MBA as my main machine. Thus, I don't know which programs use graphics performances. I do know that photoshop do not use them. But that's all. If you could assure me that the 2 express programs run flawlessly in the MBA it would help me to decide. The sound shouldn't be a problem after I put the apple earphones on it.

    What you say? Should I go ahead?
     
  5. raremage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #5
    The MBA is quite comparable to the standard MB, albeit with a slightly slower processor. If you're replacing the slower HDD, that will address the IO issues you might eperience with the 4200, but honestly I don't find my MBA to be a poor performer at all.

    I've made it my main system for work-related tasks. The ONLY thing I miss about the MBA for my work is the bigger screen - when working on network diagrams the extended real estate that the MBP15 that I moved from provided was awfully nice.

    The fans on the MBA will run. Sometimes alot - especially if you are doing graphically-intense tasks. Editing in Final Cut qualifies here, so be ready for it. For video editing, I have to think you might prefer an MBP, but the MBA will be up to the task as just well as an MB13 would be.
     

Share This Page