Resolved Apple SSD boot time.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ice Dragon, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. Ice Dragon, Dec 10, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011

    Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    I was wonder for those that got the Apple SSD, is the boot time very fast or did you have to do a clean install for Lion to make it fast. Naturally I know it would be faster out of the box than a 5,400 or 7,200 rpm hard drive though I was just curious.
     
  2. happle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #2
    why would you need to do a clean install of lion with a stock apple ssd? i have the toshiba ssd that apple gives and my boot times are very fast...
     
  3. sfoalex macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Location:
    Earth, no seriously.
    #3
    My boot time is very fast. When I bought my SSD, I just made a SuperDuper clone of the original stock install, which I added CS5.5, Quark, Office 2011 and various other apps too. Did want to reinstall everything so I just cloned it to the SSD and swapped the drives.

    Boot time is similar to coming out of sleep. Don't even bother with sleep since booting cold is so fast.
     
  4. Akack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Location:
    USA
  5. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    i made a custom startup screen, but never see it, am at the desktop really quickly...
     
  6. Gillespie81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #6
    maybe 12-14sec with all the apps opening back up
     
  7. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    A bit hard to time because I don't use auto-login, but it's around 20 seconds, including re-opening around 5 applications.
     
  8. ezramoore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Location:
    Washington State
  9. Ice Dragon thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Ice Dragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #9
    I would not unless it made a significant difference by cleaning out some of the original included files which it doesn't so question answered.
     

Share This Page