Apple Store agreed to replace my iphone BUT..............

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Mugambo, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. Mugambo macrumors 6502

    Mugambo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #1
    Apple Store agreed to replace my in-warranty 2g iphone 8gb.
    I got out of contract 2 days ago.
    But Apple wants me to get my AT&T sim card with me when I go pick up the replacement phone!

    Any suggestions/advise welcome.
    I am pretty sure if I went in without the AT&T sim card, I wont be given the iphone.

    Thank in Advance.
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Uh, why don't you want to take your AT&T sim with you??
     
  3. Mugambo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mugambo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #3
    I got out of AT&T contract two days ago and switched to T-mobile. Luckily I'm still on prepaid T-mobile without any contract. If that helps..
     
  4. MikePA macrumors 68020

    MikePA

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #4
    I can't wait to hear the answer to this question.:eek::cool::rolleyes:
     
  5. Mugambo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mugambo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
  6. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    Go to the Apple Store, if they ask for the card say "Shoot, I forgot at home, is that okay?" They will most likely reply "Yeah sure" and give you your iPhone :)
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    Uh, they're going to want the phone they're replacing.

    OP, GLWT.
     
  8. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    I understod it like they only wanted the sim card, might have misunderstood though. Sorry if that was the case.
     
  9. HitchHykr macrumors 6502a

    HitchHykr

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    "What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive"
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Well, have you ever seen Apple replace a product and not take the item they're replacing?
     
  11. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #11
    True, I read his post again and first I thought he meant he had already left his iPhone in the store but now I understand they want the phone and the sim, the phone is a given, why they would need the sim I have no idea.
     
  12. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #12
    I had the same issue. I got my iPhone replaced, and told them I would either borrow my brothers sim card, or go to AT&T and do i that way. He said Okay, but they normally an't do this,. I was able to go home with an unactivated sim card. I personally think its stupid, as the warranty says Warranty status is not dependent on iPhone activations.
     
  13. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #13
    you keep your own sim when they replace

    they siimply put it in the new phone for you
     
  14. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  15. Mugambo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mugambo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #15
    Can I buy a prepaid AT&T sim-card, Activate it and take the phone with that sim-card. I don't know how much of a difference will that make? Will Apple be able to tell if the sim card is prepaid or postpaid? Does anyone think this is a feasible idea?
     
  16. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #16
    Prepaid sim does not work with an iPhone.
     
  17. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    What happened to your old AT&T SIM? Even if you don't have a contract anymore it should still work.
     
  18. Mugambo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Mugambo

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #18
    I have the sim card but it is not active. The Genius told me that she has to activate the phone with my old sim card and only then she can honor the warranty replacement.
     
  19. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #19
    if you are out of the contract, simply state that the sim no longer works but supply it to them anyways

    its not as if its illegal to not have a sim under contract
     
  20. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #20
    You should've said this in the first place. Take the phone to replaced and the sim card to Apple, they'll replace the phone, put in the sim card, and you'll walk out with a new phone.
     
  21. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #21
    ask them to give the sin back tell them your going over to AT&T to get a new contract.
     
  22. ukcolinr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Not true. I use an AT&T Go Phone sim in my iPhone when I'm in the US. It's just data that does not work.
     
  23. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #23
    interesting though does it have anything to do with the fact your not from the US?

    If not, then thats what I plan to do after my contract is up with my iphone
     
  24. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #24
    Weird...... when I bought my 1st gen iPhone, I activated it myself at home.

    Why would they need to activate it in-store?

    It's an unsubsidized iPhone- you paid full retail price for it when you bought it, not the $199 subsidized price they charged for the 8GB 3G when it first came out.

    Just tell them that, and tell them that you didn't remember to bring your SIM with you. Tell them you'll activate it at home yourself.
     
  25. ukcolinr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #25
    Side tracking now lol :) But I found out from this Forum that a Go Phone SIM worked, the only thing different is my Handset is not locked to any network. You can use any AT&T SIM in yours, it'll just tell you that you do not have a Cellular Data Subscription when you try and access any data :)
     

Share This Page