Carrier Apple Store and T-Mo Plans question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Solomani, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #1
    I'm just about ready to place an order my an iPhone 6S through the Apple Online website. I prefer to get the "T-Mobile" version since I'm already a T-Mo customer and happy with the service.

    However, I heard that T-Mo has just "upgraded" all its Simple Choice plans, effectively doubling the data allowance. When I look at the chart at the Apple Online Store…. uhhh… it still lists the non-doubled data plans. For the cheapest $50 plan, Apple says only 1GB data.

    The T-Mobile website itself says that the cheapest $50 Simple Choice Plan gives you 2GB data. Umm….. is Apple wrong, or is Apple trying to sell me into an inferior/oudated plan?

    See the image below (the screenshot was taken November 20)

    apple t-mo plans.png
     
  2. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #2
    Why are you looking at plans at all? If you're already a T-Moblie customer, just order a contract free phone and start using it.
     
  3. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #3
    He/she probably wants to make payments on the phone...
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    This is going to come up for me in a couple of years since I am on T-Mobile. And since it was brought up…

    Can't you just place it on your current plan?

    I mean should it not be as easy as buying from Apple, taking the SIM out of the old phone and putting it in the new and then calling T-Mobile to give them the new phone's IMEI?

    Or is this not how it works at all?

    T-Mobile customer for all of a month and a half, so I don't know.
     
  5. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    I am on T-Mobile prepaid, though it should work the same. I just put my SIM in whatever phone I want and the phone just works. No need to call T-Mobile. The account is tied directly to the SIM.
     
  6. Solomani thread starter macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #6
    My old phone is not on a standard "data plan" like Simple Choice. It's an old phone with a grandfathered T-Mobile Plan intended for older phones before iPhones/smartphones existed. I stuck to the plan because it's grandfathered and cheap as hell $30. I get voice, unlimited text, and something like 30MB. Yes, that's right 30 MEGABYTES data. Clearly the plan worked fine when I had the old flip-phone (and currently an old LG touch phone). :D

    Now that I'm going to an iPhone, I will be forced to switch to a real Plan. So it's like I'm starting from scratch. Please welcome me to the 21st century!
     
  7. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #7
    I see. Well, even if Apple is showing outdated plans, it should be very simple to change your plan any time just by logging onto your T-Mobile account.
     
  8. RadioGaGa1984 Suspended

    RadioGaGa1984

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #8
    That is exactly how it works. You don't even have to call T-Mobile and give them the IMEI of you don't want to.
     

Share This Page