apple store won't change problematic imac.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by javtan, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. javtan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #1
    I got an iMac precisely 2 weeks ago, it was actually a birthday present. This imac is a very problematic machine. First, there are almost 5 dead pixel. Second it has condensation issue it appeared 2 times this week. Thirdly, it always crash and freeze when running apps like screen saver, limewire. The fan once sound like a car accelerating. I phoned apple care several times and they agreed to change for me one but when i sent it to the reseller they said that it was more than 7 days so they can't replace me a new one, so called the manager and he said that he wants to check first. I'm so worried that they can't detect the problems. What must I do??:(
     
  2. pokrface macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #2
    So there are four dead pixels?
     
  3. Fletchzky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #3
    I wouldn't take no for an answer.
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    LimeWire is a flaky java application that's going to use a lot of CPU power.

    I suggest narrowing down CPU usage using Activity Monitor. You're not close enough to the dead pixel replacement count to get a replacement yet. I've seen Apple let fewer pixels slide though.
     
  5. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #5
    If you have verifiable problems then they shoudl be able to find it, now also it does not sound like you are going to an actual Apple store since they have a 14 day return policy. If there is one near you try going there, you might be surprised with the results
     
  6. javtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #6
    sorry i have 6 dead pixel and i am now in malaysia so their return policy is only 7 days.
     
  7. davedecay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    Have you added 3rd party RAM?

    Have you tried wiping the hard drive (formatting/erasing) and reinstalling the System from the discs?
     
  8. javtan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    #8
    i just have 1GB of ram that came with this machine. For your information this imac is preinstalled with leopard. I don't know that other imac users are facing the same issue but it usually freeze when maximizing windows and exiting from front row. I installed all updates that have.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    You should still consider reinstalling the operating system first.
     
  10. geissap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #10
    Ok...

    Where to start here...um...

    First off delete Limewire and act like you've never used it in your life. It's a terrible application...that causes a ridiculous amount of problems. The way it saves files on a mac is terrible. It overlaps the files, and will eventually cause Directory Damage. (KP's, boot to a gray screen, weird things happening, you name it.) I fixed probably 1000 computers with directory damage at least 60-70% of em were users who used limewire. I'm not joking about this. Use aquisition instead or figure out torrents. Way better option.

    That aside. Yes, Apple will want to be able to replicate the issues. If the genius' can't replicate the issues your gonna be out of luck. EXCEPT the pixel thing. 5 dead pixels is not within the allowable factor in my opinion. I know there's a certain limit of pixels that Apple deems to be acceptable but I would think that 5 is unacceptable...so figure out what color shows em best so that you can show them very easily.

    Good Luck!
     
  11. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #11
    Also I would start over with Apple and skip the reseller. Deal direct with Apple only. I have never had a problem doing that.
     
  12. davedecay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    What size is the screen, 17 or 20 inches?

    Usually the threshold for bad pixels has to do with the number of bad ones, the resolution (size) of the screen, and how many of the bad pixels are adjacent.
     

Share This Page