Apple TV 2 keeps losing connection.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rsted222, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. rsted222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #1
    I'm connecting with a fairly cheap Belkin wireless router that isn't but 30 feet away. I constantly have to retype my wifi pw. It's driving me crazy.

    Any advice?
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I suggest hardwiring it rather than use the WiFi. It's more stable and faster. Especially since you're using a cheap router.
     
  3. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for the input.

    I think I may be too lazy for that. Where's the best place to get large lengths of ethernet?
     
  4. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #5
    For me, work. :p I tried to be a Belkin user for as long as I've bought routers. I always bought their top end model and finally grew tired of drops, reconfigurations, slowness, etc. My first non-belkin is a Time Capsule and I've never looked back. If you want to stick with wifi simply try another brand. There are plenty of inexpensive ones out there.

    With all that said, is there line of sight between the two? Is your Belkin a 803.11n? Is there usual wifi interference stuff close by or between (TV, other electronics, microwave, nuclear power plant, etc.)? Do you have a wireless computer or iDevice where you can see what other wifi routers are nearby and what channel they're on? If you're sharing a channel as a neighbor and he has a more powerful router it can affect you. Simply changing the router's channel may be a good place to start.

    I am puzzled you must reenter your password. I haven't experienced that on any router or device I've used, even with drops and reboots (both router and endpoint).

    You might get more traction in a network technical forum.
     
  5. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #6
    Thanks Pnutts

    My belkin is an N150 and 802.11g (whatever that means). My computer is the current iMac and the only thing between it and the Apple TV is the laundry room. I do live in a neighborhood where the houses are fairly close together and when you search for wifi you get a TON of options.

    I'll look into trying some of the ideas you had. Thanks.
     
  6. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #7
    Ya, Ethernet is the best option. Inexpensive wifi routers in crowded areas don't tend to work out well. I've got a $100 dlink and it works fine but I also have wired connections to everything possible. The only things on wifi are my macbook when I'm away from my desk and a couple of iphones. Occasionally I'll have a visitors laptop but thats pretty rare.
     
  7. munkees macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #8
    on :apple:TV 1, I lose connections all the time if the ipv6 is on itunes hosted computer, turn it off it would work flawlessly. I do not know if :apple: fixed this bug.
     
  8. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #9
    What version of iOS are you running? The first version had a bug where wifi would drop at reboot causing you to retype your password. Make sure you have the latest and greatest....
     
  9. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #10
    I'm running the newest version.

    Would get an Apple Extreme help?
     
  10. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #11
    Yikes. That's almost a worst case scenario (but I don't have to tell you that with the problems you're having). If you decide to buy a new router, get one that is 802.11n. It's much faster and much more powerful. That may be all you need. The signal comes from the router to both your iMac and ATV, not from your iMac straight to your ATV. So you have to worry about what's between your iMac and the router *and* the router and your ATV. Good luck!

    Edit: Oops, I just saw your latest post about the Apple Extreme. Yes. It is 802.11n with some newer stuff thrown in.
     
  11. thekb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #12
    I had a Belkin N+ and pulled my hair out for 2 years. CONSTANT need to reconnect, almost impossible to set up file or printer sharing and a royal PITA. I bought an Airport Extreme 6 months ago and it was like rainbows and unicorns all up in here. I mean night and day difference. If I'd have done this a long time ago, think of how much time I wasted wrestling with that thing and how much hair I pulled out.

    Anyway, I can't say for sure it will solve your problems, but it sure did mine.

    Two caveats,

    1. I find the strength of signal to be not quite as good, but it's like the difference between a smooth, clean sound from a quality pair of speakers that don't quite have the volume as a pair of old, college-dorm speakers that make hella noise and rip your eardrums to shreds because of the distortion. At least that what I imagine my computer's wifi card would say, if it could.

    2. I have noticed that many people have the same problems with other brand routers that are solved by Apple gear. If I weren't so cynical, I'd think Apple planned it that way. You shouldn't have to buy a $200 router for your Mac or Apple TV to work right, but it has saved me so much time and effort, I accept the bargain.
     
  12. thekb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #13

    Actually, in my house, the range of the N broadcast is considerably weaker for some reason. The G signal reaches throughout the house, but N covers a third less than that. I don't know why, but I turned off the N broadcast because of it.

    Any ideas why that would be?
     
  13. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    Options
    • Wired Ethernet
    • Dual band router, e.g., Airport Express, WNDR3700
    • DD-WRT firmware if your router supports it
     
  14. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #15
    Thanks for all the great advice

    I'm gonna fix this thing
     
  15. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #16
    Like a boss
     
  16. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #17
    Problem solved (hopefully)

    Just bought me a NETGEAR WNDR3700 on eBay. I think this should solve the problem.
     
  17. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

Share This Page