Apple TV 2 Remote Problems

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jctivo, Feb 25, 2012.

  1. jctivo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #1
    My Apple TV 2 is in the garage, wired to my router.

    My TV where I watch it, is in a different room on a different floor.

    I constantly have trouble controlling the Apple TV.

    I have a xantech coax over ir solution for transmitting the remote signals to the garage where the Apple TV is.

    The apple tv remote doesn't work with xantech.

    Then I am trying to use a harmony 676 but it's not working either.

    Then I'm trying to use my iphone 4 with the apple tv remote app and it works inconsistently.

    Any suggestions?
    jctivo
     
  2. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    The iPhone Remote app is your best bet - it should work flawlessly as long as your iPhone has decent connection to your router. If that's not the case - how many Wifi bars do you get on your iPhone?
     
  3. jctivo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #3
    3 bars on wifi

    I get 3 bars on wifi.

    I press the pause button and it blinks on my iphone but the time keeps counting down. :(
     
  4. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Maybe easier to run a long ethernet cable from the garage up to your TV room, where the Apple TV is best suited for ease of use and enjoyment.
     
  5. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    The one time I had similar issue - pause/play took time to register - a reboot of the ATV helped. Try it - if that doesn't do it then it's the wifi network or router.
     
  6. jctivo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Thanks

    I am trying to run 2 tvs on different floors with the Apple TV 2 so that's why I have it in the garage.

    I will try rebooting the network and apple tv.
     

Share This Page