Apple TV 4 vs Roku Ultra

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mike2874, Nov 22, 2016.

1. mike2874 macrumors newbie

I have a Apple TV 2 and trying to decide now whether to be satisfied with it, upgrade to the 4, or buy a Roku Ultra. I'm not a gamer and use the Netflix app more than anything else but do use apps like the History Channel, etc. if I missed an episode and it's not On Demand on DirecTV. The WatchESPN app is another app I use occasionally. I also use AirPlay from my iPad when an apps not available on my Apple TV 2 but possibly not something you'd miss with the Roku streamer. Just for the record I have no experience with Roku at all.

I need an optical out for my setup so the Apple TV 4 would require an audio extractor box not ideal but guess I would be ok with it. My questions:

1. Is it worth it to upgrade to either the Apple TV 4 or Roku Ultra? Would you rate it a tossup for my usage?

2. Does the Apple TV 2, 4, & Roku Ultra all provide about the same experience when using the Netflix app?

3. Do you think the Apple TV 4 Single Sign-On feature will be successful. Do think the most popular apps will actually sign up?

2. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya

I don't know what the current Netflix app looks like on the new Roku Ultra, but I use a slightly older Roku, the new ATV, and old ATV's all on a daily basis. The old Roku Netflix app was pretty bad, honestly. The new ATV app is good, and easy to use. In general I really dislike the Roku's UI. We pretty much keep it around for two reasons - for the Time Warner Cable streaming app, and for the headphone jack in the remote.