Apple TV 4K lost picture

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MGCP, Sep 22, 2017.

  1. MGCP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #1
    So, plugged in new 4K Apple TV. Went through the set up process fine using my phone to set it up (very clever!). Got to the menu page and downloaded Netflix and Now TV apps. Went into settings and turned on homeshare as I wanted to use my phone as an extra remote. I was halfway through putting in my password and the screen went black - now I can’t get the picture back!

    Device still has a light on. Tried unplugging and plugging back in. Tried resetting with the remote.

    If I plug my old Apple TV into the same cables it works fine.

    Tv seems to recognise that an Apple TV is plugged in (it says it in text at the top of the otherwise black screen).

    Any ideas what is going on? Why did it work fine and then lose the picture?

    Tv is HD not 4K if that makes any difference.

    Any advice welcome - thanks.
     
  2. xsmett macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
  3. MGCP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #3
    No, but the one I’m using is happy with my old Apple TV if I plug that back in (and was happy enough with the new one for the 5 mins I had it working!)
     
  4. bobbba macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    You may have enabled HDR in a format that your TV doesn't support. Try switching off and back on again and if that doesn't work hold down Menu + Volume Down for 20 seconds to get the ATV to drop to a lower resolution again.
     
  5. MGCP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestion. If I hold down menu and volume down then the light on the box goes off (so it knows I’m doing it) but it has no effect (tried various lengths of time up to a minute or so).

    If I reset with the remote the light blinks for a bit and then goes steady, but still no picture.

    So frustrating when a new toy doesn’t work. For about 5 mins all seemed to be going so well!
     
  6. martinm0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #6
    I've had a number of glitches with my new ATV4k since I got it early yesterday. I am running mine through a Denon AV receive that supports 4k, and then fed out to two separate 4k TVs. There seems to be some feistiness with my larger, just a few months older Samsung 50" 4k TV and chroma above 4:2:0. At times running 4:2:2 from the ATV4K to both TVs, the 50" will glitch and go to static, which has happened before when struggling through getting 4k passed from my PC or Xbox S.

    I've also had a number of issues where the remote becomes unresponsive, and after 30 secs to 1 minute it will catch up (or if I hit the TV button it will bounce me out of the app). This has been mostly while playing Apple Music, which I'm new to this week, so perhaps that is part of the issue. I'm also in process of uploading 100k songs to iCloud, plus uploading my 25GB photo library from my phone, so my issues may be more about resources and hammering my network, but I will say I've had none of these issues on any of my previous ATVs (2gen-4gen).
     
  7. MGCP thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #7
    Mine’s back again! Wish I could say I’d done something clever to fix it but no idea why it is working again (unless it was quietly changing resolutions in the background without me knowing). Fingers crossed, but I’ve got Netflix and Now Tv up and running.
     
  8. lucasajackson macrumors newbie

    lucasajackson

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    #8
    I just got my Apple TV 4k, and I'm having the exact same issue. I'll be watching a show on Netflix, and the picture will go out. My TV just says "No Signal". I have found that if I unplug the HDMI cable and plug it back in, the picture will come back and it's continued playing the show.

    I have a Samsung 4k curved TV (not sure of the model number). The Apple TV says it detected 4K and HDR (didn't realize my TV had HDR).
     
  9. qba-system macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    #9
    I am also having “no HDMI” issue on my Samsung js9000 and Marantz SR5100 receiver.

    The ATV 4K only works on the cable input. Other inputs give me error/black screen. The 4gen worked well on the same setup.
     
  10. marklemac macrumors regular

    marklemac

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Southampton, UK.
    #10
    Well, I just got my ATV 4k, and unplugged my ATV 4, plugged in the new one.

    When it booted up it the screen kept going black. I struggled through the set up and the screen keeps going black and then comes back on again. Bloody frustrating. did a cable check in settings and it says all is fine.

    Not sure what to do now, I'm mostly looking at a black screen !
     
  11. lucasajackson macrumors newbie

    lucasajackson

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
  12. gswilder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #12
    Same issue for me, after ATV sleeps for a while. I just turned off ATV HDR. I'll see what happens after sleep this time/
     
  13. gswilder macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #13
    I tried turning off HDR and also got a new HDMI cable. No luck.

    Press "MENU" and "TV" on the ATV remote for a few seconds and the ATV will reboot.
     
  14. BrentMnyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    #14
    I am having the exact same issue, and with a new 4k LG tv. I bought them both at once and thought it was going to be a nightmare to figure out which one was having the problem (and then have to return it).

    Mine was set to 4k Dolby, not HDR, so that's not the issue for me.

    Unplugging and plugging back in works for me, too. Different HDMI cable does the same thing. It's not even when it's idle; it does it in the middle of playing a movie or tv. So frustrating!
     
  15. infohou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #15
    Hey Folks,

    Long story short, mine worked yesterday through my Harmon Kardon AVR2700 with the Apple TV set to UHD/30HZ. This morning it reverted to 60hz & does want to let me change it. Thanks to whoever’s trick to lower the res, I could get it to go to 1080p through the AVR, but that flickers & looses the signal eventually. I have tried several HDMI cables.

    Yet another product realesed too early.

    On the plus side, the PlayStation Vue app is MUCH better on the Apple TV 4K than the on the PS3.

    Y’all take care,
    Robert
     
  16. kristoffer4 macrumors 6502a

    kristoffer4

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
  17. kristoffer4 macrumors 6502a

    kristoffer4

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Changing the input to another HDMI port seems to have fixed the signal lost problem.
     
  18. jlc1978 macrumors 68000

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #18
    There seems to be an issue with the new ATVs. I swapped a brand new one for another because of video issues and am having the same problem. Get a no Signal issue, spinning wheels, white screen with a progress bar and then no signal. If I unplug it it seems to work for a while. Looks like another going back. Maybe if enough people return enough Apple will fix the problem.
     
  19. kristoffer4 macrumors 6502a

    kristoffer4

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    I haven't had the problem since I changed the HDMI input.
     

Share This Page