Apple TV 4K sometimes no video just audio

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by g0ld2k, Feb 5, 2018.

  1. GIZBUG macrumors 68000

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  2. HDFan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #27
    Had same issue where HDCP was blocking the picture. I replaced the cable between my Yamaha AVR and the television with a higher quality cable (Audioquest carbon) and the problem went away.
     
  3. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #28
    I have not had a problem with it since tvOS 11.4.1. That seemed to have fixed it for me.
     
  4. GIZBUG macrumors 68000

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #29
    Pricey cable to fix the issue......
     
  5. LCC0256 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Location:
    Martinez, GA. USA
    #30

    Gold 2k. will you please update your situation? I have purchased the exact TV from Best Buy and am waiting on delivery. Was sent a notice that they are "out of stock" (knowing this is in fact 2017 model I dont know if they will have anymore or not) Read the reviews and believed this was the best economy level 4k TV for the $. Now you give me pause to think if in fact there is an issue with Apple TV and this particular Sony OR Sony IN GENERAL....maybe I should re think my purchase. Any help or advice from you (or others on this forum) would be GREATLY appreciated. I use Apple TV 90% of the time to watch TV The other 10% divided between over the air and my iTunes movie collection. So Apple TV interface is HUGE.
     
  6. Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #31
    I would argue the 65X900E, also a 2017 model which I have, is the best value priced set available, and as it’s been discontinued, likely an equally good buy if you can find one. That said, I had the exact same problems as @g0ld2k and his 850e. However, the tvOS 11.4.1 update seems to have resolved all of those problems (prior to that I tried everything he did to no avail).

    To the extent this was a Sony-only problem, it’s probably due to the horrific Android TV OS Sony has adapted for this set. It’s buggy, laggy, and unreliable, prone to crashing, and system anomalies. The Apple TV is a must for this TV. I only use mine for the internal tuner and my OTA channels. Everything else is run off the ATV. The picture is incredible on this set. Now that Apple fixed this little problem with Amazon and Netflix apps, I’m finally loving it!
     
  7. HDFan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #32
    I reached my limit on purchasing cables that were supposed to work to find that they didn't. I look at it as a diagnostic tool. If this cable doesn't work I know the problem is elsewhere in the chain. And I got on eBay for half price.
     
  8. Bill Sewell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    #33
    I’ve been struggling with no video / just audio on my Samsung set after adding the AppleTV 4k device. After ripping out every possible variation, I isolated the problem down to one issue - Apple4k now sends out a DHCP 2.2 signal for copyright protection. I have everything running in a server closet that feeds the HDMI via Ethernet to the TV in the other room. That balens (extender) is not DHCP 2.2 compatible. The new ones are and cost $320 for the privilege of dealing with the new security format. I’m pretty pissed about this, tbh.
     
  9. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #34
  10. Bill Sewell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    #35
    https://www.cnet.com/news/hdcp-2-2-what-you-need-to-know/

    Apparently DCHP 2.2 is a brand new security protocol that is NOT backwards compatible even on many 4k devices. It doesn't care about TV resolution, iOS updates or Apple's latest $30 Belkin Cables - it forces you to make your whole signal chain DCHP 2.2 compliant. What sucks is there's no reason why they won't do it again with 2.3 or 2.4.

    I've spent 5 hours on this problem so far, so this is the best of my understanding. At least I know more that Apple Genius Bar (buy a $30 cable), Apple Phone Support (should work) or Marantz (we do nothing to the signal). Key Digital was the only company to point out a problem - they said their extenders (HDMI to Cat6e) could handle 4K but not DCHP 2.2 and that I had to buy a new extender.
     
  11. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #36
    I was asking just because my late 2016 Sony Bravia 4K has been DHCP 2.2 compliant from day 1. That's why I was under impression that any TV, AVR or soundbar that claims 4K support, must also support DHCP 2.2 by definition.
     
  12. Bill Sewell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    #37
    Doing more research, I found that earlier 4k TVs did not support HDCP2.2 (damn dyslexia!) but almost all do now. I happen to have a specific component in my signal chain that does not. It was a PITA to figure that out.
     
  13. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #38
    I see. My 4K era started with X850C of 2015 and that one already supported HDCP 2.2:
    https://docs.sony.com/release/specs/xbr65x850c_mksp.pdf
     
  14. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #39
    It just happened to me, no image at all from my ATV 4K. I tried to manually select the ATV 4K, nothing. The AVR was correctly set to the ATV, though. It's a Sony XD80. After the last Bravia firmware update (in September?) I have had all kind of issues. It happens quite often that HDMI CEC doesn't connect (like it doesn't switch to the ATV), sometime some HDMI devices do not appear at all. The "Discover" menu keeps crashing (and thus reloading when pressing the button, so even to manually select the ATV I have to wait), I have got the random reboots back and it is the usual piece of junk for any other "smart" feature (which I barely use anymore).

    Anyway, what always works, at least for the HDMI-CEC, is to unplug the TV for few seconds and then plug it again. The TV (Android TV) obviously restarts and it recognises (and commands) all plugged HDMI devices.

    The previous Bravia firmware was much more stable. I knew I didn't have to update it...
     
  15. miric macrumors member

    miric

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    #40
    Belkin UHS cable doesn't fix anything. The problem still exists on Samsung TV.
     

Share This Page