Apple TV (4th gen) and Netgear router

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by zamboknee, Mar 10, 2016.

  1. zamboknee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #1
    I'm tired of my Roku not working (mostly netflix, on my 2nd roku) and am thinking of plunging into the new Apple TV (4th gen).
    I have a hard drive hooked to my Netgear R7000 (Nighthawk) router that I use to play movies on over the wifi to the roku.
    My question is: Will the Apple TV be able to stream these movies from the hard drive connected to my router?
    Thanks
     
  2. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #2
    AssumIng an SMB and a compatible format then there are mutiple Apps

    Like:
    Infuse Pro
    MrMC
    VLC

    Others.

    Maybe get one with a return policy to test.
     
  3. zamboknee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
  4. kch50428 macrumors 6502

    kch50428

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    North Iowa
    #4
    You'd add the stuff on that drive to your iTunes library...and home share the iTunes library so the AppleTV can have access to it.
     
  5. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #5
    Take a look at Plex -- then it doesn't matter which platform you decide on...
     
  6. John_Hagan macrumors member

    John_Hagan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    #6
    I have a Netgear R7000 router along with an ATV4. I've used Infuse Pro to watch movies stored on my NAS. It works very well. There is no reason why it wouldn't work with a drive connected to the R7000. Infuse is a great product. I highly recommend it.
     
  7. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #7
    I 2nd this
     
  8. zamboknee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #8
    Does Infuse Pro remember where you were on playback? I've been using VLC (I bought the Apple TV btw) and it's pretty good but it's not remembering where the playhead was.
    For what it's worth, my wife noticed Apple TV not remembering where her Netflix show left off. Probably for a different post, I know, but thought I'd mention in case it's related to VLC not remembering playback head.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2016 ---
    Doesn't Plex need to be installed on an operating system? As in, needs to be installed on an OS X/Linux machine that's constantly running?
     
  9. benjitek, Mar 22, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2016

    benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #9
    Don't know about Infuse, I tried it very briefly and found it much more limited than Plex, check with their website. Plex Media Server does need to be running on the OS's you mentioned, as well as Windows or a NAS. I'm at home when using my ATV4, so it's pretty much a non-issue. Try the free version, very easy to setup and use.
     
  10. zamboknee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #10
    Free version of server?
     
  11. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #11
    As opposed to...?
     
  12. zamboknee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    #12
    Just clarifying if you meant the app or the server.
     
  13. benjitek macrumors 6502a

    benjitek

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #13
     

Share This Page