Apple TV airplay and Dish Network

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by eyedoc_00, Dec 14, 2013.

  1. eyedoc_00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #1
    I have Dish Network at home. I have the dish anywhere app on my phone and can tap into my DVR and watch TV anywhere I get wifi. I do not have any cable or satellite at my office. I can use the dish anywhere app and watch TV on my phone or my computer. What I want to know is can airplay stream what I am watching to an apple TV so I can watch on a TV instead of my phone?
    Thanks
     
  2. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #2
    It is up to the App if they allow it. I just did a google search and someone said you can not do it. Of course that can change at any time. HBO Go and MAX Go at one point did not allow it but they do now. Of course HBO Go is on the Apple TV now.
     
  3. eyedoc_00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #3

    Thanks. I take it that would be the same if I go on my macbook air open safari and go to www.dishanywhere.com? I am not sure how airplay works on the computer vs. iPhone. Can the apple TV go on the internet with safari?
     
  4. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #4
    Maybe. I can not test it since I don't have Dish. However, I have FIOS and the FIOS Mobile App can not be Airplayed but I can go to FIOS Online and Airplay with Mavericks (Mac 10.9).
     
  5. eyedoc_00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #5
    Thanks. I am thinking/hoping dish online would do the same. How do you airplay with mavericks?
     
  6. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #6
    icon in menu bar. Simple.
     
  7. eyedoc_00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #7
    Does the icon only show up when an apple TV is available?
     
  8. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #8
    Not sure. Always had ATV.
     
  9. Dobbs2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #9
    Should look like this.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. eyedoc_00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #10
    Does Airplay need to be turned on in system preferences?
     
  11. eyedoc_00, Dec 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2013

    eyedoc_00 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    #11
    I can not find it in system preferences. I was at my local apple store tonight and asked them about airplay and they told me it should just be on the menu bar. I told them that neither of my macs (running Mavericks) has it on the menu bar. They told me to try and find it by looking in spotlight. No luck. Also, my iPhone 4 running iOS7 also does not have air drop or airplay sections in the control center that you swipe up from the bottom of the screen. I am thinking that you need an apple tv present to get the airplay to show up?

    ----------

    When you use your FIOS Online and airplay from your computer, are you able to do anything else (multitask, use other web sites, etc.) on the computer?
     
  12. beachmusic macrumors regular

    beachmusic

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    St. George Island
    #12
    Maybe airplay showing up is limited to 2011 iMac's and newer?
     
  13. niteflyr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #13
    This for sure.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5404

    In display settings, make sure "show mirroring options in the menu bar when available" box is checked.
     
  14. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #14
    I only did a test for you. I normally do not use it. But I believe it is considered MIRROR which means whatever is on your screen goes to the Apple TV. However, Mavericks has another option for multi-screen support that works with Apple TV but I have not used it. You may want to read about it on the Apple Site. I think with multiple screen support you might be able to do what you want.
     
  15. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    I tried this setup with my MBP and found it to be unwatchable. The drop in framerate and audio synchronization was significant. (over wifi).
    YMMV with ethernet
     

Share This Page