Apple TV Airplay failing!!

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by iOrbit, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. iOrbit, Jul 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2012

    iOrbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #1
    sigh, i don't know what to say, i'v had my apple tv for like, less than a week. up until today it has worked flawlessly. then suddenly today, Airplay just stopped working properly. i get the "An error occurred while connecting to the AirPlay device “Apple TV”. An unknown error occurred (-15000)" .error from itunes when attempting to play!

    i reset the apple tv to default setitngs (not factory restore) and then it was solved, but only for a little while, it stopped working again just now.

    i feel really discouraged about it, others i have found on google have reported this problem, have other people here experienced it? is it a faulty apple tv?

    i bought it from Argos.

    EDIT**

    sorry guys, i realised just how much info i forgot to mention.

    i have an 3rd Gen apple tv.

    im trying to use my mac with it, (2011 late macbook pro) im trying to use the apple tv as remote speakers in itunes for my music.

    it seems movies are working wit hit still (though when i tried to browse the movie further from the original playhead position, it wouldn't play again)


    i haven't actually tested my iPod with it, ill give that a go now.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Have you tried restarting your network? Turn off all computers, your Apple TV, your router(s), and modem. Then turn the modem back on and wait for it to finish starting up. Then turn on your router(s), starting with the first one in the chain if you have more then one. Then turn on your computers and your Apple TV. Once everything is back up, try it again.
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Which Apple TV? No real harm in a factory restore, you'll just have to enter your personal info again. Make sure it's up to date too.
     
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    What version of AppleTV do you have? How are you using airplay? Just from your phone to the device?
     
  5. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #5
    okay i'll try this, by the way, i forgot to mention

    my problem is mostly referring to using the apple tv as remote speakers in itunes, it seems that airplay is still working for movies in itunes! im very confused :S


    guys/girls, i just updated my post with better info, im going to test my ipod now, and then try restarting everything.
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Which model Apple TV? 1,2 or 3? Which OS version is it?

    Ahh got it ATV3. Which OS are you running on your computer? Lion?
     
  7. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #7
    Apple TV 3

    the ipod os, is the latest i beleive, ill get the exact version in a sec!
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    See first post. It was edited with the info you want.
     
  9. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #9
    okay, my iOS version is latest, 5.1.1.

    just turned everything off and restarted, so far iv tested ipod, and apple tv airplay is working as speakers. now im going to test itunes.

    my question now is, suppose this solves it, why did this happen? does this happen regularly? my suspicion is that it will keep happening :(


    edit*

    yeah, itunes is working again.

    sigh, im woried about this, i hate having faulty products that need to be replaced, especially considering i got this from argos, im not sure if im allowed to take it to apple directly??
     
  10. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #10
    It could be your router. Troubleshoot by using wired Ethernet.

    Who's Argos?
     
  11. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #11
    its possible, if theres a next time and i assume there will be, i will switch to ethernet to see if there is a difference, i'll also test the ipod and see if this problem is exclusive to the mac/itunes.


    argos is a superstore retail chain in the uk
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    What kind of router do you have? And what would you say its age is?
     
  13. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #13
    i have a modem/router hybrid/combination.

    its Virgin media's official 'superhub' its not older than 3 months.

    virgin's vendor for these is netgear.. let me see if i can get a model number

    VMDG480
     
  14. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #14
    i have thought about a few things, the only things that have changed recently, just not logn aftr getting the apple tv last friday,

    was buying the magic mouse/trackpad and wireless keyboard from apple.

    before i bought these, i had bluetooth turned off all the time, is bluetooth or these devices potentially the culprit?

    edit**

    still reading other articles on this problem

    apparently, someone posted that many macbook users got theirs working again by plugging in their macbook tothe power. ironically, my macbook pro is plugged in again.

    could it be a combination of an unplugged macbook pro + bluetooth turned on? because im sure the streaming was working fine when i wasn't plugged in, prior to the apple mouse/trackpad etc.

    i also must admit that its been more recent that i'v been using 'multiple speakers' feature instead of jsut One speaker. could be a combo of all 3, i don't know.
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #15
    Bluetooth is unlikely to be causing the problems.
     
  16. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #16
    i updated my post,

    im going to experiment with this and see if the problem returns if i unplug the macbook while using multi stream (apple tv remote speaks and computer speakers)

    and how it works if i just use one apple remote speakers by themselves.

    hmm.

    heres the forum i just read about it, i have a feeling this Could be it.

    https://discussions.apple.com/message/9953271#9953271
     
  17. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #17
    update guys

    same problem again tonight. itunes is getting that same error, while macbook is plugged in. i tested my ipod this time, and my ipod's airplay is working fine.

    so the problem seems to be secluded to just itunes/the macbook

    :(

    any ideas??
     
  18. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #18
  19. iOrbit thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #19
    hey thanks for help, haven't checked the link yet, (about to) but i think i know the solution in it. i tried going to network settings to disable ipv6 but i only saw the option to make it: Auto, Manually, or "link-local only".

    reason im back here though - just tried something, and i got airplay working with the mac.

    - i plugged in ethernet cable and turned off my wifi. not airplay from itunes is working perfect.

    so this is either down to 'reconnecting' to the network? (switching ot ethernet, turning wi fi off) or it is an actual hardware/wifi issue in the laptop?


    interesting puzzle..

    i wonder if it will still work if i switch back to wifi after wi fi has been kinda 'restarted' (by switching on off)

    in the mean time, i'll look at this link, maybe you could explain what setting i put the ipv6 on?

    EDIT**

    okay i looked at the link, makes sense, so terminal must be used, but i am quickly asking myself, if ipv6 is the fix, then why is it working fine with my macbook using ethernet? (the settings for ipv6 on the ethernet in Network settings is set on local link only).. hmm?

    EDIT 2***

    okay, so i unplugged ethernet and turned the wifi back on,a nd itunes is still working fine with airplay (well, itunes stopped working airplay, but i expected this as it was using the ethernet, once i clicked play on another song it worked, and is still working now)

    so i guess its not really an ethernet/wi fi preferences, just simply reconnecting to the internet will get it working?

    for now, im going to let it work, and test the ipv6 terminal method when it happens again (and im sure it will)

    thanks so much for sharig that T5BRICK, im confident it will probably solve it.


    i will print it.
     
  20. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    The problem I was having, while not identical to yours, was intermittent. Sometimes restarting iTunes would fix it, sometimes restarting the Apple TV was required. I've had IPv6 disabled for a couple days now and haven't had any issues.
     

Share This Page