Apple TV + Airport Express = Benefits?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by alvaroe16, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. alvaroe16 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I am currently looking for a way to improve my speed of my apple tv.
    Here is my current setup:
    Airport Extreme (5th Generation) (2nd floor - next to modem)
    Apple Tv (3rd Generation) 1st floor - next to all my home theater equipment)
    Multiple Apple computers and iPhones

    The extreme behaves really well and all the computers and iphones get pretty good signal. The apple TV, however, sometimes seems very slow and struggles with some downloads. Airplay Mirroring Display lags behind.

    Ideally, I would be able to put a wired connection between he extreme and the apple tv, but this is impossible without significant remodeling.
    I tried ethernet over power lines and that was even worse... super slow speed due to dimmers and interference from other equipment.

    That said, here are my questions:
    1) Do you think an airport express on the apple tv side will help? Will the express get better wifi signal than the apple tv?
    2) Do you think that other equipment like the receiver, ps3 and tv coudl interfeer with the wifi signal from the apple tv?

    Thanks,

    ALvaro
     
  2. frankdogg macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Wilshire LA
    #2
    You can use the express as a network extender or you can mount it higher up and connect it through Ethernet to the :apple:tv.

    In your entertainment set up, where do you have the :apple:tv stored? Is it in a cabinet? Is it closer to the floor or on a top shelf?
     
  3. alvaroe16 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for your response.

    The apple tv is inside a cabinet, right on top of the sound receiver. The cabinet has glass doors. The PS3 is in the same cabinet (two levels below) and when it is on, it gets pretty good signal.

    Do you think I should try removing the apple tv from the cabinet and mounting it higher?
     
  4. frankdogg macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Wilshire LA
    #4
    I'm going to assume your PS3 is utilizing the 2.4ghz and the :apple:tv on 5ghz. From what I understand, 2.4ghz is stronger but not faster. 5ghz is faster but is prone to weakness with distance and interference.

    I'd try putting the :apple:tv on top in the cabinet to see if it improves the signal removing it from any interference. Higher, the better.

    Also for your extreme are you utilizing two network names for 2.4 and 5? What channels? Or is everything on 1 name with auto?
     
  5. alvaroe16 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #5
    I am currently using the extreme with the same name on auto. My understanding is that this is the best setup since I don't have to change networks depending on where I am in the house. I would imagine for stationary devices I could setup different names and set them up as preferred, but for the iphones or laptops this would not be ideal.

    I will try moving the apple tv to a higher position. I will let you know how that works out. Thanks for your help!
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Make an effort to run wired ethernet to that cabinet. Else try a pair of ethernet over power adapters.
     
  7. eduardrw, Oct 14, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014

    eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #7
    What type of cable infrastructure is in your building?
    Do you have coax for TV going to the Apple TV area?
    Do you have phone lines going to individual rooms?

    If you have one of those there are solutions available.

    For example if you happen to use Uverse, the main set top box (STB) connects to additional STB via coax. As a side benefit you have an ethernet port on the back of the secondary STB with full connectivity!

    If you want to go WIFI, put an Airport Express halfway in between the Airport Extreme. You want to extend a good signal.
    Most people have seen a very good improvement from replacing the Airport Extreme with a new Time Capsule.
    Remember if you are trying to play video on you Apple TV you bandwidth need is very high. So you need an excellent signal.

    If you use OS X in a laptop, there are tools to see signal strength and neigboring routers which could transmit on the same channels and slow you down. (I use WIFI Scanner http://wifiscanner.com)
    Transmit on the least crowded channels - measuring close to your ATV - evenings seem to have the most networks active..

    I decided to bite the bullet and run ethernet - result is so much better.
    Flat Ethernet cable: http://www.amazon.com/Fosmon-Snagle..._sim_pc_7?ie=UTF8&refRID=0VPWJQ3HN91ZAJ5GTFNH
     
  8. frankdogg macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Wilshire LA
    #8
    Said he tried it and it made it worse. Too much interference for him using the power route
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    In the AirPort Utility, does it show the Apple TV as having a "good" or "excellent" connection? If not then your connection is directly a wireless problem and you must either reposition it out of the cabinet or add a wireless receiver outside of the cabinet and run Ethernet from that.
     
  10. alvaroe16 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #10
    There are some great suggestions here.

    Yesterday, I tried putting the Apple Tv in 5GHz by separating the 2 frequencies. The signal on the 5GHZ is "good" in the airport utility. When using the 2GHz is "excellent".

    Last night I started thinking on how I could manage to get wired connection to the living room. I might need to move my router to a different location and get rid of the wired connection in the study vs getting a wired connection in the living room. More to come in this decision.

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11
    Did you move the :apple: TV yet?
     
  12. alvaroe16 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    #12
    Tried it. Moved it away from the Sony receiver and wifi went from good to excellent. So far making sure it is in 5ghz and away from other equipment seems to have worked!

    Thanks for everyone help!
     
  13. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #13

    Glad to hear it is working well now! Troubleshooting wireless problems is not fun.
     
  14. frankdogg macrumors regular

    frankdogg

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Mid-Wilshire LA
    #14
    we did it guys! Mac rumors users helped someone. yay.
     

Share This Page