apple tv and 1920x1200 samsung pc screen question..

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ellis91, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. ellis91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #1
    so i just sold my gaming pc a few days ago to help raise the money for an air or 13" retina for final year of uni.
    iv still got the 1920x1200 screen sat doing nothing on my desk and i have a dvi-hdmi cable. my thinking was i could use that screen in combo with apple tv to watch all my media on saving some of my ssd space in the process.

    i read somewhere that apple tv can only output at 1920x1080, does this mean that i would get black bars on the screen? same for airplay?
    thanks in advance
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    It depends entirely on how your monitor handles a 1080i signal through it's DVI connection. You might get black bars on the top and bottom ... perhaps you'll get a stretched screen (so that everything looks slightly taller) ... or maybe you'll get nothing.

    Unless someone has specific experience with your particular monitor, it's just conjecture. What's the model number of your monitor?

    You could also do some testing with some other HDMI devices. Do you have a BluRay player lying around? How about a PS3 or XBox360? Maybe an upconverting DVD player? What about an HD camcorder? These devices would probably behave similarly to an aTV.

    ft
     
  3. ellis91 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #3

    good advice, thanks!

    just plugged in my housemates ps3 using dvi to hdmi and it worked fine, ps3 said output was 1080p but there were no black bars.

    ----------

    my screen is a samsung 2433bw for anyone who wants to know.
     
  4. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #4
    For a lot of content HDCP is required, your monitor may not be able to decrypt the signal.

    Alo, some monitors only recognise VESA resolutions and DVI is RGB only.
     

Share This Page