Apple TV and 5.1 Encoding

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Scarpad, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. Scarpad macrumors 68000

    Scarpad

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Ma
    #1
    I use the HB Apple TV Setting to encode. I usually leave the AAC DPLII as the 1st Soundtrack and the 5.1 AC3 passthru as the 2nd. Does the ATV automatically play the 2nd Soundtrack or is there a setting for that on the ATV ?
     
  2. BoB 7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #2
    I think you have to do it the other way around. Try the 5.1 in 1st soundtrack and the prologic in the second. If your amp has the proper decoder, the ATV will pass thru the 5.1. If not, ATV will send prologic.

    B
     
  3. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  4. chenks macrumors 6502a

    chenks

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  5. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #5
    The appleTv setting in hb is correct. thats why it is the way it is. If the atv sense audio out to a capable device it will use the ac3 5.1 track, otherwise the dpl2 aac track. Been talked to death on here.
     
  6. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    I'm not sure about its auto-sensing abilities, but the Apple TV has a setting in Settings, Audio & Video, Dolby Digital Out.

    A.
     

Share This Page