Apple TV and Airplay issues

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by shandyman, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #1
    I've just moved into a new flat, where the building supplies wifi as part of the rental and have issues with my Apple TV.

    My Mac, iPad and iPhone can connect to the wifi fine, but the Apple TV, although it connects and gets an IP Address, will not actually appear to be connected. All apps don't work, saying about the internet connection. When I connect on my other devices, I get a welcome splash page with a disclaimer, so think this could be stopping it working properly, but not sure?

    My other issue is, that my work around for this, which is Airplaying from my iPad to the Apple TV, only works for the Videos app. Safari, YouTube, All4 all don't work. When I try airplaying from those, the Apple TV flickers to the video then stops again and it reverts to my iPad display.

    Any suggestions to resolve either issue? I have no access to the router.
     
  2. ozaz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Perhaps move the Apple TV to a stronger signal strength area of the room and run a long HDMI cable to the TV?

    Or perhaps use a Wifi extender in your flat?
     
  3. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #3
    the splash screen is going to get you, neither moving the aTV or the extender won't help

    one option, you can run an ethernet cable from your mac to the aTV, and turn on internet sharing on the mac.
    you would have to have a cable running to your mac, and your mac awake if you wanted to watch the TV, which might be annoying

    another option would be 2 airport expresses, and creating your own network
    (you might be able to use something from another manufacturer, but i'm not sure what all is out there)
    I've done a setup like this a few times.
    you can get a refurb airport express for $49 from apple
    just realized you called it a flat... £59.00 in the UK store.
    Or you can get an older style off eBay, make sure you get the version with 802.11N support. the older model won't work

    AE #1 (this would be like the modem in a "normal" setup)
    • set to join the building wifi.
    • make sure that "allow wired clients" or something like that is checked, it's been a few months since i've done this, not sure about the settings..
    • The airport express is the easiest device to use for this, i've done it with some other devices, but took a lot of messing and/or custom firmware to make it happen.

    run an ethernet cable from the LAN port (the <---> icon) on AE #1 to the WAN port (the circle of dots icon) on AE #2

    AE #2 (this would be like the router in a "normal" setup)
    • Set to create a wireless network. name and security of your choosing.
    • If you already have another router, you can use that here.


    all of your devices would connect to #2
    once you logged on to the splash screen, using either your mac, iPhone, or iPad, the network provided by the building would recognize airport express #1 as "logged in" since that's where the request came from. all of your other devices should then connect without having to go to the splash screen again.
     
  4. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    Thanks for that. I have a time capsule, so just need another airport express. In the short term, could I use the Mac connected to the building wifi, share the connection via Ethernet to the time capsule and then have my devices connect through the time capsule? Similar principal surely?
     
  5. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #5
    Hmm seems the wifi drops out occasionally when doing that and only reconnects when I disable internet sharing on the Mac.
     
  6. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    Wifi has been sorted in the building now so don't have to try and extend it anymore, but the issue I have is the Apple TV cannot see the iTunes library on the Mac on home sharing. AirPlay is fine, but I miss using home sharing. Any ideas or is it potentially due to blocked ports?
     
  7. shandyman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Further problem, wifi periodically makes you accept conditions for using the wifi. I got past this initially for the Apple TV by spoofing the MAC address on my MacBook and accepting it. I can't keep doing that, so would sideloading a browser onto the Apple TV (the new version) work for the splash page?
     

Share This Page