Apple TV and Home theaters

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by nanah50, Oct 16, 2011.

1. nanah50 macrumors newbie

I have a PDP 4340HD Pioneer Plasma TV, a Bose 28 system, a cable box, a WII and I would like to hook up Apple TV. Is there any way to get sound without getting an optical cable? Also would like to keep using composite monster cables we already have since they cost so much. We can get picture but no sound. I'm new to this and the TV was set up about 10 years ago, if somebody could walk me through step by step from scratch that would be fantastic. We have tried using all the manuals, but nothing is working together. Appreciate any help.

Thanks,
    Nanah50

2. blueroom macrumors 603

blueroom

3. nanah50 thread starter macrumors newbie

Apple TV and Home theaters

I know the Apple only has HDMI, my Pioneer has 2 HDMI inputs.

Nanah50

4. RayK macrumors 6502

No, your only options are HDMI audio (which I guess you don't want?) and optical audio.

5. ActAsIf macrumors newbie

I'm new to the forums, so I'm not sure if I'm allowed to post links to products. I purchased an HDMI to component adapter because I ran out of HDMI inputs. Just google hdmi to component adapter and pick the adapter that you like. Word of advice, before plugging anything in make sure that anything that will be used is fully powered off or you could fry the electronics.

6. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

AcesHigh87

Posting links to products is fine. Only links containing illegal stuff are against the rules.

7. Makosuke macrumors 603

Is there some reason you can't just plug the HDMI output from the ATV into the TV and its optical output into your Bose system?

Your TV has two HDMI inputs, and your Bose should have one optical input and several coax digital inputs, so if your cable box is currently using the optical input it probably also has a coax digital output that you can switch to and then use the optical input for the ATV.