Apple tv automatic Input switch !

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by usefz89, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. usefz89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #1
    Hi,
    Can apple tv switch tv input automatically when you start using airplay ???
    If it cant is there a way or work around to make auto switching
     
  2. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #2
    IIRC no because the AppleTV does not support HDMI CEC.
     
  3. usefz89 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #3
    Thanks takeshi74 for your reply
    But is there any workround for it ??
     
  4. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #4
    I think I've seen this kind-of work with HDMI auto-switching hubs (or, presumably, any TV that might have similar functionality). If you Airplay to the ATV and it wakes from sleep, then the hub auto-switches to that input. However, if I switched to another input, and Airplayed a second time, the hub didn't switch (unless/until the ATV was sleeping again).
     
  5. usefz89 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
  6. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #6
    I tried using an auto switching HDMI hub from Radio Shack, but even when the Apple TV was off, it still produced a black screen that prevented auto switching feature from working.

    My solution at the time was to put the Apple TV on it's own TV HDMI, and manually switch to and from the input, while other devices such as an Xbox 360, bluray player, etc were connected to another HDMI input via the auto switch box. Powering those devices on made the switchbox activate that input.

    I have now reworked my system, I purchased a harmony remote with a Chinese brand HDMI switchbox from Fry's electronic with a remote, the harmony now can control the switchbox without bothering with any auto switching feature.
     
  7. usefz89 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #7
    So for only Apple TV buying an auto switch hub its not flawless solution so I'll stick with Manuel solution until apple tries to make some changes
     

Share This Page