Apple TV / BBC I Player / Sony Bravia / Streaming

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Finetime, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. Finetime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #1
    Hi All,

    Not being a seasoned IT guru like many on the site I'm looking for a little help following becoming a convert to the great Apple powerhouse.

    I have a Macbook Pro and have recently purchased Apple TV, judging by the receent blogs some would say a bad move however I have to say so far I think its a great product.

    However lets get to the point of my post, is it possible to play BBC I Player either through Apple TV ( I suspect not?) or through my HD TV using the surround sound? The TV being a Sony Bravia KDL40W500 with a surround theatre system being DAV-IS50. I'm essentially looking to stream from Iplayer through the TV and Theatre surround sysytem

    Thanks for your help !!
     
  2. richorlin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #2
    BBC iPlayer

    I believe the BBC iPlayer is only available to UK residents. The player checks your IP address. I suppose it you use a proxy server based in the UK you might be able to get around that restriction, but I haven't tried it.
     
  3. James Craner macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    No Apple TV does not support iPlayer out of the box - I remember reading that the BBC discussed it with Apple, but Apple were not interested. I believe if you mod the Apple TV with something like ATVFlash then it is possible (if you live in the UK).
     
  4. Bevz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yeah, boxee has a BBC iPlayer app. I've got boxee installed on my Apple TV via ATVFlash, but there are other (cheaper!) ways to do it... Whichever way you do it, it's worth it as the app works brilliantly and the video quality is actually not bad... You do need to be in the UK though i believe...
     
  5. Mushii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #5
    BBC iPlayer

    As BEVZ stated you can patch your ATV using either ATV Flash which you have you have to pay for or you can use the almost identical atvusb creator (which I use) which costs nothing http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/
    and don't believe the spam from the commercial retailers of patchstick that this is bug ridden, it works just fine.
     

Share This Page