Apple TV Channels - HBO

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by KG87, May 7, 2019.

  1. KG87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #1
    Has anyone else subscribed via channels and noticed that certain shows still require you to use either the HBO Go or HBO Now apps? I've watched both GOT and John Oliver via Apple's stream, but if you attempt to watch something like an older season of Veep, it requires you to still have a login from another service to use HBO Go.

    I wonder if this is temporary as they add the streams on their own servers or if Apple TV Channels will always only receive more recent seasons.
     
  2. johnyslats macrumors 6502a

    johnyslats

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Have you previously watched Veep via HBO Go through ‘up next’ functionality? I believe the TV app remembers this connection.

    If you search for the show and scroll down you should have the option to open in the HBO channel rather than HBO Go
     
  3. mallbritton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #3
    This is just my speculation, but perhaps the HBO Now/Go apps need to be updated to fully support the Channels feature.
     
  4. StarShot macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #4
    My HBO story. Dropped the service last fall, mainly because I wasn't watching it. Got a bug a few days back and "reupped". My way in is with Directv. On the Directv site, I was unable to sign back up and after a few tries, gave up. I next called Directv and got signed up from Directv's end. HBO, then running fine on my TV, BUT I couldn't make it work via HBO GO. I spent at least 2 hours on the telephone with Directv and HBO without being able to receive HBO GO on ANY of my devices (iPad, iPhone or computer).

    Without HBO GO, I don't want the service so I cancelled it a few days ago. I'm now going to try to resubscribe via Directv.

    PS I think all my trouble here is do to the merger of ATT and DirecTV. IMHO, a really crappy interface. I'm close to canceling my DTV account totally and going with Dish.
     
  5. nburwell macrumors 601

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    DE
    #5
    So essentially neither DTV nor HBO could figure out what the problem was? Certainly seems a bit odd.

    Are you getting a deal through DTV? Or is it the same $15/month price? If it's the same, why not try HBO Now instead? Or did you want the live channels carried by DTV?
     
  6. StarShot macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #6
    Yes it does sound odd and in searching the 'net, there seems to be several other posts about this as well. I think it's truly a DirecTV/ATT problem. And yes, HBO with Directv is $18 extra verses $15 with HBO Now. And yes, I'm on NOW and it's working fine. I have 100 MB service.

    Re ATT/DirecTV, IMO they have some work to do. If I wasn't a bit on the lazy side, I would blow off DirecTV and go with Dish. Strangely Dish no longer offers HBO and says to get it via HBO Now. Go figure.
     
  7. mallbritton macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    #7
    Go into Settings > Apps > TV and disconnect the HBO apps from the TV app and then you'll get the behavior you expect. Everything will play in the TV app.
     

Share This Page

6 May 7, 2019