Apple TV -- Connecting to iTunes Store/constant restarts needed

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by amcoffin, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. amcoffin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    Strange problem started happening in the last week or two, after years of mostly hassle-free operation of my Apple TV(s).

    Now, when I turn on my system after a period of non-use, I am able to see the Apple TV main menu as if it is connected to my wireless network, but selecting any app (say, Movies), will lead to the "Connecting to iTunes Store" screen with the waiting animation indefinitely.

    Once I go into settings and restart the Apple TV, everything works just fine -- snappy, with instant access to apps and content.

    I now have to restart the Apple TV every single time I want to use it. Never seen this before...any ideas?
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    If you can always use wired Ethernet for stationary devices.
     
  3. amcoffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Sure, I get that -- I just find it odd that I'm not having other wireless issues (that I can see), and everything was working fine. Also, the fact that it can be fixed with a restart of the AppleTV makes me think this is an Apple TV issue, not a network issue.
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  5. amcoffin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #5
    I have an Airport Extreme 5th generation on my second floor as my primary router, connected to my cable modem, and an Airport Extreme 4th generation extending my network (on my first floor, connected to my media center).
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Are the two AirPorts connected wireless or wired Ethernet? Wireless is a >50% in transfer rate when used in extender mode. A Ethernet over Power adapter might help if you can't run a cable.
     
  7. BigMovieGeek macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #7
    I'm on a wired connection and I'm also getting this. I would guess that it started happening after the past software update.
     

Share This Page