Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gugy

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 31, 2005
La Jolla, CA
Hi I am a newbie so please bare with me, :eek:

I would like to buy an Apple TV but the current 160 gig would not be enough to my dvd collection.
I would like to have an external hard drive 1tb and connect it to the Apple TV usb port. and have it all local. So no use to have my mac on to stream.
Would that work?
Do I have to hack it?

I want Apple TV to be like a server for my whole entire collection of music and movies.
I would only sync Apple TV to my Mac to transfer movies and music that I just ripped. After that I want to only use Apple TV as local server.

Am I dreaming or is this feasible?
I appreciate any help.

Cave Man

macrumors 604
Hi I am a newbie so please bare with me, :eek:

I would like to buy an Apple TV but the current 160 gig would not be enough to my dvd collection. I would like to have an external hard drive 1tb and connect it to the Apple TV usb port. and have it all local. So no use to have my mac on to stream.
Would that work?

No, it won't.

Do I have to hack it?

Yes, you would to get that much storage.

I want Apple TV to be like a server for my whole entire collection of music and movies.

The ATV cannot act as a server. It does not have the software (that anyone has figured out) to do so. It is an end-of-the-line device only.

It is conceivable to get a larger storage solution for the ATV. For sure, a 750 gig PATA drive can be added with a bit of hacking (44-pin to 40-pin adapter, then a cable out of the ATV to a 3.5" 750 gig PATA drive), or a 1 TB drive with a PATA to SATA bridge (not tested).

gugy

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 31, 2005
La Jolla, CA
thanks for the input.
Damn.
I guess I have to be content with only 160gig. That unfortunately won't cut. So I guess I need to wait for a larger capacity Apple TV in the future.:(

Cave Man

macrumors 604