Apple TV Flickers like a piece of $%*@

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Alienworkshoper, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. Alienworkshoper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #1
    So I havnt used it in a couple weeks, but it used to work fine. Work fine as in not flicker and constantly have the screen go black and unposition itself.

    I turned it on today and it said there was an update. Never saw it say that before. So I figure sure.. the update should make it better, right? Well since the update it flickers and acts retarded and is useless. Any suggestions?
     
  2. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #2
    Are you using an HDMI-to-DVI adapter? That is apparently the source of most of the problems. However, some users have reported problems even with direct HDMI connections to their TVs. In any case, there appears to be nothing that can be done at this time to correct for this issue.
     
  3. NedBookPro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #3
    Just out of interest, is there a way to roll back the update in the case of coming across this problem?
     
  4. KeithJenner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #4
    One of the changes made in the latest update was to introduce some HDMI settings to solve a problem where peoples screen was changing colour. I suspect that this change has caused your issue.

    Go to settings and you will see some display settings. I'm not near mine at the moment so can't say exactly where they are. Try different settings and you hopefully you will find one that works.
     
  5. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #5
    There is but you need to make a copy of your current firmware's signature hash (SHSH key) BEFORE you do the update. If you don't have this key then you won't be able to make the roll back stick (it will be seen as invalid and force an auto update). Of course, you also need a copy of the previous firmware and other tools to actually "hack" back to the original firmware. Simply put, the process is not for the faint of heart.

    Look here on Wikipedia for additional info:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SHSH_blob
     
  6. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    That may work, but unfortunately I think that many who have experienced this problem will find that the HDMI color-space option is fixed to "Auto" and can no longer be changed.
     
  7. fpnc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    There is a post on Apple's own discussion forum for the Apple TV from what appears to be an Apple employee that says that Apple is aware of this problem and that they (Apple) are working on a fix.
     
  8. Alienworkshoper thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    You only mentioned Apple TV but it seams that you might be talking about the Apple TV 2. Which is it? Specifics are important especially when they run a completely different OS.
     
  10. Valve1138 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #10
    Try changing your HDMI mode to something other than Auto.
     

Share This Page