Apple tv loses connection when streaming from ipad

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by djgamerdude, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. djgamerdude macrumors newbie

    djgamerdude

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Location:
    Sebbersund, Denmark
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I'm really having trouble with my apple tv. It's 3rd generation and I've got it connected to my router via ethernet cable with a dynamic IP.

    The thing that's happening is that it keeps losing the connection or has trouble establishing a connection, when I stream from my ipad. It's worst when I use youtube, but also happens with Twitch, Eurosport, local danish tv, you name it.

    What I've noticed, is that it switches between showing "apple tv" and "apple tv (2)" in my airplay menu. And everytime the connection is lost and I reconnect, I have to connect to the other one. For example: I start watching a stream and connect to my apple tv, shown as "apple tv" in the menu on my ipad. Then the stream disconnects, and when I reconnect to apple tv, it is shown as "apple tv (2)" in the menu on my ipad. And vice versa.

    Iv'e tried switching the router on and off, disconnecting the time machine, resetting the apple tv.

    Any of you have a clue, why this is happening? Any input is much appreciated. :)

    My router is a tp-link archer c20i dual band router. I've also godt an old time machine (1TB) running, I've got a mid 2011 imac on the network, 2 ipads, 1 ipad mini, and a couple of mobile on and off. The ISP is danish internet provider called Bredbånd Nord and we have a fibernet connection with 50 Mb/s.
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    The Time Capsule (?)...how is it set up networking-wise?
     
  3. djgamerdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    djgamerdude

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Location:
    Sebbersund, Denmark
    #3
    It is connected to the router via ethernet (DHCP lease, dynamic IP) and runs its own wi-fi separately (which is probably redundant, come to think of it). It does not act as a router itself, i.e. it is set to function as a bridge. My iMac is connected to the router via one of the time machines LAN ports (I've set the iMac to a static IP adress).
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    You haven't said anything that seems like the obvious culprit.

    You should probably have only one router putting out wifi...whichever is best...and that sounds like it is probably the dual band TP-Link.

    I'd try using reserved IP addresses, assigned by the TP-Link, for every device that connects.
     
  5. djgamerdude, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016

    djgamerdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    djgamerdude

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Location:
    Sebbersund, Denmark
    #5
    Thx m8. I'll give it a try. :)

    Edit: Obious culprit is the 9.3.2 update! My girlfriends ipad is working perfectly well with apple tv and running iOS 9.3.1 and mine stopped working, after I updated. :-(
     

Share This Page