Apple TV no longer autoplaying TV episodes

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by FurbyUK, Sep 11, 2016.

  1. FurbyUK Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Up North
    #1
    I was watching a tv show from my MacBook via home sharing and it automatically continued onto the next episode. I put tvOS 10 GM on and now it's stopped working. No idea why. No obvious setting changes.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Yea report the GM to Apple Developer Bug Reporting. ;)
     
  3. FurbyUK thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Up North
    #3
    Already reported it, but may be pointless since it's no longer beta, this is the version the public is getting in a few days. thanks for being condescending.

    It may not be a GM issue though. Was after actual sensible ideas to resolve the issue.
     
  4. DmbShn41 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #4
    Is it a specific app that it wont work on, or is it all apps in general? Could be a setting that needs changed, or it could be a code break that was affected by the underlying OS update, which in all likelihood will be fixed once the new OS is released, and the specific app is updated with the corrections.

    Its 'normal' that certain apps lose functionality or features when running an OS GM or beta, generally due to the developer not updating app with whatever nuances change between major versions.
     
  5. FurbyUK thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Up North
    #5
    As per my OP, it's when watching tv episodes via Home Sharing. It's not a separate app.
     
  6. DmbShn41 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #6

    This might be something with the GM. I've not messed with the GM since an early beta release, nor have I tried this feature. Is it something you can replicate repeatedly?

    I would recommend what was mentioned above by notating it to Apple. If by some chance its a fluke in that its not replicable, they may just ignore and move on. But if its something that they garner interest in, they may contact you for further info. Understand that as part of the pre-beta/GM EULA, when submitting the issue, info from your device will be transmitted to Apple for the purpose of diagnostics.
     
  7. FurbyUK thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Up North
    #7
    As stated, already reported to Apple. I had 3 TV shows on my Mac, they used to autoplay to the next episode. Now they don't. So yes, it's replicable in a sense.

    GM is the final release version, going to the public tomorrow.
     
  8. cpenner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #8
    I noticed this too! Huge disappointment. I noticed this feature died in one of the betas. I don't remember which one. I was hoping they'd bring it back, but they haven't yet :(
     
  9. macseven77 macrumors newbie

    macseven77

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    Mine too. This is a huge feature for me. I find I use it less since it doesn't move to the next episode. Very much a pain. Can anyone submit a ticket or only developers?
     
  10. cpenner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    #10
    Anyone can submit a ticket. I was holding off on submitting something as I wasn't sure if it was a bug or a deliberate feature removal. If they removed it, submit a new feature request ticket. The more requests they get, the more likely it will be the feature returns.

    bugreport.apple.com
     

Share This Page