Apple TV on vacation?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by rustyosaurus, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. rustyosaurus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #1
    I brought my Apple TV with me on vacation thinking I could watch movies and Netflix but its not working right. All I see is the screen saver but the remote app on my iPhone wont see it. I didn't bring my real remote.

    Will this work or do I have to use it on my home network only?
     
  2. pavelbure macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    #2
    I think they both have to be on the same wifi network.
     
  3. rustyosaurus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
  4. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    The problem isn't accessing Netflix. Its because you need your iPhone and :apple:TV on the same wifi network so they can connect, which is pretty much impossible to do because you can't put the :apple:TV on wifi without the actual remote. The only way would be if you connected the :apple:TV to ethernet and the iPhone on that same wifi network that its on.
     
  5. wilhub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    If your at a hotel you will probably not be able to get pass the hotel log in screen where you have to agree to abide by their policies. The last hotel I was at made you accept their policy through the ethernet cable.

    I read in this forum that you can connect to a Macbook. Something about creating a wifi network from your Macbook. I guess you would plug your Macbook into the hotel's ethernet.

    You might try the Apple 30-pin Digital AV Adapter on your iPad or iPhone. I use this with my iPad to watch movies that I purchased from iTunes.

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD098ZM/A/apple-digital-av-adapter?fnode=3a

    Good Luck
     
  6. lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Yeah but even if he/she made te network with the MacBook he/she wouldn't be able to connect to it on the :apple:TV because he/she doesn't have the original remote with him/her.
     
  7. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Hold up...

    Quick question...

    How did you think the remote app on your iPhone connected with the AppleTV?
     
  8. crazycanucks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #8
    The cloud... ;)
     
  9. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Yeah...

    Ya know, not an altogether crazy assumption considering how much we've been told about the power of the cloud.
     
  10. rustyosaurus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #10
    I think the only way to set up wifi is to use the actual remote. I tried to set up with a direct TV remote but no go. I had a new remote overnighted from amazon prime. Got it the next day. Problem solved. I love amazon prime.
     
  11. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #11
    LOL. U win the presidency Sir.
     

Share This Page