Apple TV over powerline

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by captainm1uk, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. captainm1uk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    Hi

    Heres my issue. I have 4 ATV 3's in my house running over zyxel power line adapters. these adapters have a power save mode which puts them to sleep if there is no activity after a set time. If my ATV goes to sleep - when I restart it and try to watch a file it cannot connect to iTunes library. Everything else works fine - ie iTunes store, netflix etc but the movie library wont connect unless I switch off and on my power line. Now I know I can set the ATV to never sleep but I'm stumped as to why this does it. I have a QNAP 412 nas - apple networking is enabled and my drives are mounted on my mac

    Please can anyone help
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Sounds like an issue with the Zyxel adapters, see if there's a firmware update for them.
     
  3. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #3
    No firmware update - I dont think its the product as I can access all other network features on the unit - I think its the sleep mode thing and the handshake between the apple tv and itunes get lost somehow
     
  4. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    I have two ATV3's, a Synology DS212j and AEBS all on wired Ethernet. I've never had any issues with connecting to iTunes running on a Mac.

    If you can temporarily run an Ethernet cable to bypass those Xyzel devices that would tell you where the problem is.
     
  5. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #5
    Yes so the hard wire is always on and the powerline goes to sleep. Most of the power lines have this feature. My old ones were Lynksis ones and they worked perfectly as they didnt have this feature

    Thanks for the info though :)
     
  6. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    I've had the same thing happen, both on wifi, Ethernet and power line adapter connected. As far as I've gathered, it's been when either the computer or the atv changed internal ip for whatever reason. Since I put them all on static ip, I haven't had any more problems...

    Don't know if it's a coincidence though, but might be worth looking up.
     
  7. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #7
    I'd bet the problem of losing the iTunes library is related to Bonjour but as I've never used a powerline adapter, can't say what's the actual cause.
    PS can you start AirPlaying a movie from iTunes side, after the problem occurs?
     
  8. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #8

    Anandtech found that the difference between On and sleep for AppleTV's was something like less than 1W, at that rate why even bother having them go to sleep.... If that fixes your problem then I would go that route.
     
  9. SpinalTap macrumors regular

    SpinalTap

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Location:
    Bournville, UK
    #9
    I've been using a mixture of Devolo AV+ 200 and 500 plugs since I first bought my AppleTV. I have not experienced the problem that the OP cites.
     
  10. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #10
    Its the power save mode that causes the issue. If its on all the time then it works fine. If the different between on and standby is about 1w then I can live with that. Wifi wakes it ok

    ----------

    I havent tried that but if its airplay then I bet it will work as the wifi wakes it up no problem

    Cheers
     
  11. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #11
    WIFI works but does your WIFI stay awake?

    I've been having issues with Apple devices not talking to each other and sleep, issues I did not have with Wintel.
     
  12. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #12
    Well, most of us have probably lost the track on which device's sleep we are talking about. I understood, that the sleep of your powerline adapters is the problem. For me, the Apple TV's sleep has never caused a loss of connection to iTunes. I run it wired, though.
    I mean, if your powerline adapters are awoken from sleep, can you connect from computer's side to aTV? I understand, that's not possible from aTV side towards the computer?
     
  13. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #13

    Yes its getting confusing this :)

    If my ATV goes to sleep and its woken all functionality works apart from my itunes library, ie netflix, apple store etc. I disconnected my power line and used wifi and thats worked fine for me but I have 4 units and all my movies are blu ray rips so there is a lot of buffering. I cant use a hard cable as the wife wont appreciate me drilling (more) holes in the walls ;-)
    I will give it a try what you suggested and post results

    Thanks
     
  14. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    What brand / model are your power line adapters?
     
  15. steve-p macrumors 68000

    steve-p

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newbury, UK
    #15
    Can you not disable the power saving mode of the adapters? I don't have any issues with my Devolo adapters, and no problem with power saving mode because of my network configuration. At one end the powerline connects to the router, which is always on and therefore won't allow the adapter to sleep. At the other end, in my AV cabinet, the power adapter is connected to an 8 port switch, which also doesn't allow the adapter to sleep. The switch is connected to ATV, TV, AVR, Xbox etc and it all works great. If you have other devices where your ATV is, currently connected using WiFi, then a $25 switch would probably solve your issue and improve throughput on your WiFi for other things too.
     
  16. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #16
    One one side my my powerline connect to my router, at the other end I have another power line connecting to a switch where my ATV plugs into. The router side is fine as its always on and doesnt let the powerline go to sleep. The other side relies on the connecting devices. I cant run a cable to my router as my fire place is in the way - this would solve my issue. I also have devices upstairs that have the same issue

    ----------

    Hi

    Here they are

    http://www.zyxel.com/uk/en/products_services/pla4201_v2.shtml?t=p
     
  17. captainm1uk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #17
    Anyone recommend some powerlines that dont contain a power saving mode ?
     
  18. alFR macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #18
    Solwise sell a lot of Homeplug/Powerline stuff, maybe give them a call/drop them an email and see what they recommend? They're pretty helpful.
     
  19. 835153, Nov 22, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2013

    835153 Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #19
    I've got TP link adapters with sleep function. Every 2 minutes they wake to check the line and then go back to sleep (annoying lights at night). I have no problems with my AppleTV in fact they've made it all the more enjoyable to use as its obviously 'snappier' than when using WiFi.

    For anyone that has never tried Powerline adapters I HIGHLY recommend them. These are the ones I have (4 of them).

    Heres my network if anyone is interested.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. skantrow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #20
    no ethernet connection over powerline

    I am trying to connect ATV to a Zyxel PLA5215 powerline adapter. The adapter functions well when connected by ethernet cable to my Blu-Ray, but with the ATV cannot find an ethernet connection. The network test checks out okay, but no networks/no netflix coming through. All come through fine when I detach the ethernet cable and the connection reverts to wireless. Any suggestions for making the ethernet connection work? Apple suggests taking the unit in to have the ethernet port checked; AT&T (Uverse is my internet provider) doesn't know how to set a manual IP address and doesn't know if that would fix the problem; Apple says it should work fine with a self-assigned IP.

    Any suggestions?
     
  21. 2010mini macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    #21
    OP,

    Is you home currently wired for cable tv (coaxial)

    If so you can use Verizon Fios Actiontec routers to extend your wired and/or wireless coverage in your home. Broadband over coaxial is way better than by powerline.

    You will need 2 of them for your application (eBay) the physical set up would look like this:

    Your main router>Actiontec 1>coaxial line>Actiontec 2>Apple TV (LAN)

    http://www.avsforum.com/forum/36-home-v-distribution/1145636-actiontec-mi424wr-cheap-moca-bridge-all.html#/forumsite/3207/topics/1145636
     
  22. LDec macrumors newbie

    LDec

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Location:
    CEE
    #22
    I had similar issue with Cisco and the only cure was to leave Apple TV to play radio or anything from iTunes.
     

Share This Page