apple tv question, and 2 HDTVs

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mrgreeneyes, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. mrgreeneyes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #1
    hi,

    is it possible to have an Apple TV play on 2 tvs?

    thanks
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
  3. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #3
    even if the 2 tvs are in the same room?

    currently my apple tv is connected to my 32 inch hdtv.

    and im thinking of getting a smaller hdtv to have it connected to my apple tv also.
     
  4. richardhunt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #4
    You can buy a component distribution amplifier and then you connect both TV's to the amplifier and the apple TV to the amplifier. Then both TV's can watch the same program.

    http://www.amazon.com/Component-ypbpr-Video-Distribution-Amplifier/dp/B000NK75HI

    OR

    A passive component video splitter, but this degrades the video quality somewhat, you may not notice it though. You will also need a splitter for the audio as well.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10422&cs_id=1042205&p_id=2848&seq=1&format=2

    OR

    You could buy one of those inexpensive component video switchers sold for PS/3 and XBOX 360 consoles. You then connect the Apple TV to the "output connector" and then each TV into two different inputs. The only problem here is that you can only watch the Apple TV on 1 tv at a time. You select which TV get's the signal with the switch box.
     
  5. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #5


    i dont mind having to swtich the signal between the two tv's.

    what about if i want to share my digital cable box, dvd player and xbox and apple tv. between the two tvs?

    thanks so much for all your help
     
  6. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #6
    if they are all component connections, there are switches that handle multiple devices.
     
  7. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #7


    ok umm.

    my xbox is component
    my digital cable box is HDMI
    my dvd player is HDMI
    and my apple tv is component
     
  8. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #8
    so you would need one component switch and one hdmi switch with each being able to handle at least two devices.
     
  9. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #9
    are the component and hdmi switches expensive?
     
  10. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #10
    disclaimer: this is a simplified solution. perhaps there is a device that can convert video and audio to a common output no matter what the input is.
     
  11. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #11
    i would guess relatively cheap. $25 for component, $50 for hdmi.
     
  12. mrgreeneyes thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Orleans,Canada
    #12
    they might cost more for me, since i live in canada.

    i found a 3-HDMI switcher for $165 at best buy.
    but i cant seem to find a component switcher

    on my hdtv, i have 3 HDMI ports and 2 component.
    and both component ports are being used by my xbox and apple tv.
    and 2 of the HDMI ports are being used buy mu dvd player and digital cable box.
    i have one hdmi port left.
     
  13. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #13
    monoprice has a good HDMI switch and it'll be a lot cheaper than best buy
     
  14. richardhunt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #14
    Your apple TV is HDMI as well, so in reality you have 3 HDMI components and the XBOX 360, which could be HDMI if you have the right version.

    What you want then is a 3 x 2 switch (might as well get a 4 x 2). This is a matrixed switch which lets you have 2 output sources and 4 input sources. Then any of the 2 TV's can watch any of the 4 sources independently. Like this one:

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/p...=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=5312&seq=1&format=2
     

Share This Page